Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Tea Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Tea Rice

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2009

      Wow! I love cooking with tea, and this is a lovely way to do so. The tea gives this dish a lot of flavor without using a sugary/fatty/salty sauce like a lot of stir-fry-type dishes. I only had about 3/4 cup of basmati rice, so I added 1/4 cup Bhutanese red rice, which has the same cooking time. I am looking forward to trying this with brown basmati rice (I would adjust the amounts and cooking time). I doubled the garlic and ginger and used a whole bag of frozen stir-fry veggies. Alas, I did not have any sesame seeds on hand. I did add 1/2 pound sauteed tofu for protein and served with low-sodium soy sauce, as suggested. I will definitely make this again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      Good rice! I sauteed half an onion and a cup of fresh carrots for the veggies. The green tea is very mild in it. We liked this with the optional soy and chili sauce. I could see lime and cashews working well as additions too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      This was good rice but not great rice. I think I'll make it again to see what I can do to improve my results. I like the idea of using tea in a rice dish, but on my first try it was pretty bland. Thanks for posting, made for ZWT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      Very, very nice rice dish! Usually I like to make a recipe 1st time as written, but I'm really not fond of frozen mixed vegetables, so followed IngridH's lead & used peas! We really enjoyed the combo of flavors here & I'll definitely be making this one again & again! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed during ZWT6 in Family Picks]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      this is a delicate dish that will go with any of the asian dishes .i too cooked in rice cooker i used the jAr ginger ,which is excellent ,and jar garlic iim not even sure what kinda rice i have right now and it turned out great . i didnt put in vegtables cause its gouing with some other vegetably things lol try this zaar tour 6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      This was good. I used peas instead of mixed vegetables, and made this in my rice cooker. A nice, simple change from plain white rice. Made for ZWT6 for the Seasoned Sailor and his Sassy Sirens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      I almost made this per instructions but I had to use jasmine rice as that was all I had on hand. I was pleasantly surprised at how good this was using the green tea. I forgot to add the sesame seeds but I don't think it really mattered. I didn't see the suggestion to serve with chili oil so I didn't do that but I sure will next time. Thanks for sharing a great recipe. Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Made as recipe, altho I didn't add the vegetables because I was serving this with a chinese main dish. I made the tea quite a bit earlier and set it aside, I thought I might also try different flavours of tea in future. I forgot the sesame seeds, sorry about that, only noticed now that I should have used them. Next time! I liked the flavour and texture of this dish, and will be making it again, I like the suggestions of tamari and/or chilli oil and will definitely try them. Thank you! made for veg*n swap#19

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      I accidentally used jasmine rice instead of basmati because I grabbed the wrong container in the pantry. Next time I will increase the ginger to two teaspoons. I'm assuming you meant cover the tea bags with 'boiling' water, right? The amount of sesame seeds-both brown and black was reduced to 2 tablespoons. Black sesame seeds pumped in some color to the dish, too. Skipped the mixed vegetables. This would be good I think garnished with fresh cilantro or watercress. I plan to make this again soon as a meal-in-a-bowl adding the mixed vegetables and a protein. Thanks for posting your recipe! Reviewed for Veg Tag #19-2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      This is really good, a healthy and versatile side dish! I halved the recipe but followed directions exactly, except for doubling the amts of garlic and ginger. Stirred some salt and tamari into it just before serving. Excellent with barbequed tofu and greens. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Made this in the rice cooker. Put spring onion, garlic and ginger in bottom to cook before putting in water and rice. Also added fresh beans, cut into pcs with the rice. At the end, I mixed it all into some seasoned meat that I browned. Was very good. Only 1 child didn't like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Rice Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Tea Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 155.4
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    30%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 49.2 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    green tea bags

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites