12 Reviews

Wow, what a nice contrast between the tart pomegranate seeds and the sweetness of the oranges. Also, a very beautiful salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threeovens August 07, 2012

Easy to prepare, and very light and refreshing - perfect for a hot day. Thanks for sharing! ZWT7

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews June 28, 2011

Excellent in everyway. We enjoyed this immensely as we sat on the porch overlooking the sleeping farm with a thunder storm in the distance. I asked DH if he could picture being on one of the Pacific Islands, and he commented he could. Thanks for bringing some quietness to our day, delight to our palette, and health to our step. Followed exactly, using my own French dressing (oil, herbs, vinegar) in place of bottled. I used a combo of iceberg to our own fresh salad lettuces from the garden. YUM! Made for ZWT7

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 22, 2011

I made this as directed but since I'm not a big iceberg lettuce fan, next time I'd use baby spinach and a mixture of baby greens. Otherwise, very tasty and pretty. Made for ZWT #7.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan June 21, 2011

I made this for dinner last night using baby greens and bottled dressing that I mixed some balsamic in. I didn't use the full amount, just 1 Tblsp. The pomegranate seeds and mandarins made for a very pretty salad that was very tasty. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT7-Pacific Islands.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY June 19, 2011

This was easy to pull together. Yesterday was a very lucky day for me because I found fresh pomegranate seeds at Trader Joes! Yay! I substituted fresh oranges for canned and used a variety of mixed greens for color including red loose leaf and baby arugula. Wanted a simple and light vinaigrette and whisked together 2 tablespoons muscatel vinegar and extra virgin olive oil and added a few shakes of cracked black pepper and salt. Reviewed for ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl June 13, 2010

This is a deliciously different salad. It received various reviews from tonight's diners but all in all was enjoyed. I forgot to add the green onion and I think I poured too much salad dressing it but that's my fault and not the recipe's. Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario May 22, 2010

john and I enjoyed this bright crunchy salad. I used frozen seeds. As soon as pomegranates come into season I buy extra just to freeze for when I find recipes like this off season.This brightened up my Menu #28849 menu, it is a dark meal and the salad gave brightness. Made for ZWT5. Thanks! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ June 09, 2009

Excellent! I too used romaine lettuce (more like 3 cups) and had to use dried pomegranate seeds because fresh is not available this time of year. Gave it some crunch. Instead of light Italian dressing I used a bit of oil, added some dried Italian herbs and used the balsamic vinegar of course. I knew my BF would love this recipe too, and he said so. I forgot to add the celery (darn), and my photo software failed me last night so if I can't get it working again I won't be able to post a photo:( Part of an excellent dinner with a Caribbean soup. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend June 02, 2009

Nice salad! I used romaine lettuce and a balsamic dressing. The pomegranate was so good with the mandarin oranges. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLYing4Me February 20, 2009
Green Salad With Pomegranate and Mandarin