Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Rice (Broccoli, Cheese, and Rice Casserole) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Rice (Broccoli, Cheese, and Rice Casserole)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2010

      Really good and easy to make! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      my family loved this. i made it with peper jack to give it some spice.yum yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      Can't beleive I haven't rate this great recipe.. I make this ften and the kids love this healthy rice dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      OK, this was good. I used a can of cream of celery soup (healthy request variety) with a tiny bit of milk added to just thin it slightly. I also cut down on the baking time...to 20-25 minutes. I added some onion powder and garlic powder and a little bit of creole seasoning to the onion when I sauteed it. It turned out quite well and wasn't dry at all. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      I was very excited to try this recipe. But was disappointed. This was very dry and bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      as the recipe stands, i give it 3 stars. but if you just add your own flavor it's definitely a 4. i added garlic salt, pepper & a dash of nutmeg. it probably needs a little something else too, but i'm not sure what. i needed it asap, so i didn't bake it, and it was fine in the skillet. i pretty much just dumped in the ingredients, eyeballing the proportions. i sauteed the rice in the butter, added nuked frozen broccoli, dumped in shredded cheddar, low fat milk and the spices. i imagine if yours came out dry, just add more milk. mmm good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Ok I'm not sure what happened the first time, must have pushed a wrong button. Like I was saying something simple and quick that the kids will like. I used 1 can of cream of chicken soup instead of the low-fat milk.(10 3/4 ounces) I used a whole bag of mild cheddar (8 ounces). I also decided to add some parmesan cheese to the blend. I didn't think it need to be baked so I skipped that step altogether.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      This was pretty good. I had to add salt, pepper, and garlic powder to the mix because it was a bit bland. I also added about another 3 ounces of cream soup (Cream of Asparagus Soup (vegan)) because it seemed a bit dry. Used three Tbsp nutritional yeast to replace the cheese (dairy allergy) but I think I'll try four next time. I encourage anyone to try the nutritional yeast as a sub because it's super good for you (tons of B vitamins) and cuts out all of the calories of cheese! Thanks messy, the kids will demand it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      I packed this as the main dish in my bento today. It wasn't bad alone, and just a simple sprinkle of salt brought out a lot of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      Listen, I'm not going to write home about this. It was okay. I just ate 2 bowls. I don't think it needed to go in the oven at all, truth be told. If it doesn't go in the oven I don't see how it could possibly be dry. It was somethign that my 2 year old ate with gusto, which is nice. I used 2 cups of rice and feel that I could have gone more gung ho with the broccoli, though I had probably closer to 3 cups, though I had cut it up finely. I used a mixture of mozerella and cheddar cheeses, and a regular milk that I had on hand. I also used garlic, thinking that it might need an extra "kick". But I sauteed the garlic first, which I don't think I would do again. Maybe put it in fresh, cause I just couldn't taste it. I feel like the flavors got lost in all that rice. 1 cup (of rice) would have been sufficient for all of the other stuff. I also seasoned with salt and pepper and I think I would use more next time. But, I don't know, this just wasn't a "wow" recipe. Not very flavorful and I"m not sure how to make it more flavorful. But like I said, my daughter ate it and my husband also enjoyed it. If I can think of a way to get some more flavor in there, I will definately make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      I liked this hardy dish - it was plain but good. I would make it again but I guess I reserve 4 and 5 stars for WOW recipes. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      I used uncooked rice & added 1c. each of water & milk I think I added some leftover cauliflower to it also dh loved it will be in my cook book

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      At the last minute I discovered I was out of brown rice, so substituted white rice. I loved the fact that it was a healthier version of broccoli rice casserole, and didn't rely on the typical creamed soups and Cheez Whiz. The only thing that prevented me from giving it a full five stars is that it was a little on the dry side for our taste. In the future I think I'll add flour to the sauteed onions and butter and make a white sauce with a little more milk, and then add the cheese to that to melt - so that it's a bit creamer. Overall, a very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      Just delicious, we really loved this recipe. I scaled it down in half and made it as written and it turned out perfect. Even my 6 year old like it! Thanks Messy Cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      We loved this recipe! Since there are only two of us this makes enough for freezing and will make a quick side dish (or main course by adding chicken, etc.) later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      We found this recipe to be what we call a "Good Base" It needed some changes but overall was good. We found that 2C of broccoli was not enough a 14 oz bag ( frozen ) would have worked better for us ( when using frozen broccoli don't cook it first , let it cook during the baking ). 2/3C cheese was also not enough we are going to be adding 2C next time. Otherwise it was a great way to use up leftover brown rice. This recipe will be going into our family's dinner rotation :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Rice (Broccoli, Cheese, and Rice Casserole)

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.0
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    43%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 28.8 mg
    9%
    Sodium 252.9 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites