Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Rice

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2009

      This was too bland and the parsley overpowered the dish. I realized after the fact that it called for no salt, but boy could it have used some. I might try it again with more seasoning and possibly substitute cilantro for the parsley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      This rice was delicious and very quick and easy to make. I followed your directions exactly and got a tasty pot of rice which was served with baby back pork ribs, yellow beans and sweet carrotes. It was a perfect match for all the dishes, great texture and flavors. I will certainly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      Great new rice dish for our family. I'm always making rice as a side dish, now I can make something different. This has great flavor! Thanks MamaK (Made for Bevy Tag 5/08) ~V

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      This is a great side, really easy & tasty. I did this alongside some kashmiri lamb & it was great, I made as directed but next time will do it in the rice cooker which should work just as well. Thanks Mama!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      This is a lovely and flavorful rice dish! We had it with grilled salmon and it was a wonderful pairing. I will make this one again for sure! Thanks mama!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Delicious, easy to prepare and a good way to use up some excess parsley. I think I might add just a smidge of garlic nrxt time, but not too much. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      Wow! You've got some great recipes! This was really fabulous rice. I used the water and bouillion version and the saltiness was just right. I did only a pinch of cayenne as DH isn't supposed to eat anything spicy. I had to increase the cooking time to 22 minutes as things cook longer at high altitude. I will definately be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      We really liked this rice Mama's Kitchen. It was perfect and even without salt. Made for the Beverage Tag. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      This was good, though we thought it needed some salt. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      I love this! It was so easy prepared in my rice cooker! I sauteed rice, parsley and green onions in my rice cooker with olive oil and butter before adding in the chicken broth, cayenne and bay leaf. Cooked on the regular cycle ~ and there you have it! Thanks for a delicious rice dish, Mama's Kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I made this one night last week as a quick side dish. Dh took one bite and said it was not good. I tried it, and found it to be a bit flavorless (except for the green onion). Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      What a lovely rice dish this is. Browning the rice a bit certainly adds to the flavor, I used Jasmine. I followed the recipe with no additions or subtractions and it turned out perfectly. 4 people ate the full recipe! It has to be good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      This rice was wonderful. Even though you'd think the amount of green onions would be overpowering, it's not...same with the parsley. I didn't add the bay leaf because I am not fond of them. I'm low on burner space right now, so I did this in the oven. I preheated to 400 degrees and using an oven-safe dutch oven, I sauteed everything added the rice and the stock and covered it. Into the oven for 15 minutes or so and then 10 minutes on the counter, no peeking. Fluffed with a fork and it was perfect. Thank you mama's kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      Served tnight with Buttermilk Meatballs- very good ! Thanks Mama !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      This is so yummy! It was super easy to make, with things I usually have on hand, and a very nice change from regular rice. We served it with lemon-herb rotisserie chicken. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      I did try the rice and found it very-very tasty! I did not have any broth so I used plain water. Excellent! I sure going to have it often in the future. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      I knew I would love this as soon as I read the recipe. I was right! I used brown rice instead of white rice. I'm sure the white rice is even more delicious, but I try to use mostly brown rice for health reasons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      Love this! Loved the extra flavor from sautee-ing the rice and onion, love the herbs. I added some bits of fresh oregano and basil which I had on hand and a bay leaf from Greece which really added flavor--and used homemade stock. Really good and really easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      A great rice dish! Instead of the long grain rice, I used basmati. Other than that made it as per instructions and the rice was fluffy and each wonderful individual grain was enjoyed by all. Thanks mama.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2005

      For some reason I just loved the name of this dish, loved the sound of it after I had read through the instructions, loved the fact that it was so quick and easy to make - and once it was made we all loved the dish itself! I made my Green Rice even greener, by adding a packet of well thawed and thoroughly squeeze-dried frozen spinach and a generous handful of baby spinach leaves which were due to be thrown into something I was making. I used my Vegetable Stock Vegetable Stock instead of the chicken broth and since I wasn’t adding the cayenne pepper (personal taste preference), and since there was no garlic in the recipe, I added some garlic powder and a pinch of cinnamon. A quick and delicious recipe that I’ll make again: great for a week-night stand-alone dish (and you could always add a can of salmon or some cold chicken or ham) or as a side dish, and I found it great to take to work as a dish that was easy to reheat in the microwave. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (199 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.0
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    20%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 405.8 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes