13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

for a no-yeast bread this baked out lovely with great flavor, I also added in 1 teaspoon garlic powder, thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz May 16, 2010

Wonderful tasting bread!! I only made 1/4 of the recipe for myself and had to use all AP flour as I ran out of Wheat flour. This is like a combo of bread and biscuit texture. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for PRMR Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 May 13, 2010

The taste of this is somewhere between bread and a biscuit. It is nice and fluffy. Turned out I didn't have any whole wheat flour so I used 1 cup ap and 1 cup bread flour. Can't wait to try this with whole wheat. I used garlic salt instead of regular and thought it lacked salt so next time I will use regular. I also reduced the butter to 2 tbsp. This bread was a great addition to my Salmon Chowder

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie December 03, 2009

this was very good. i made it vegan by using coconut milk with 1 tsp. vinegar - in place of the buttermilk and a "flax egg". it was very good and had a nice flavor. thanks for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adams.wifey August 29, 2013

I also had no whole-wheat flour, and had to sub AP. I think I paid too much attention to the other reviews, and didn't flatten mine enough; it went into the oven looking like a surly softball. It turned out beautifully, though--very moist, with a rich, biscuity flavor and texture. The green onions really made it smell and taste wonderful. Thanks for posting! Made for the Lively Lemon Lovelies, ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl August 13, 2012

I made this last night to go with stuffed pork tenderloin and it was very very good. I will make this again. thanks for a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryL in Canada November 22, 2010

A lovely loaf of bread! It is hearty, thick and crusty! Mmmm, the perfect loaf for a good slice of cheese. :)
I liked the simplicity and quickness of this recipe and also the great taste!
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this lovely recipe with us, Deantinit! Ill make it again!
Made and reviewed for Zaar Stars Tag Game November 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula November 12, 2010

This was great! Kinda like a savory scone. I'll definitely try it again, and probably add some nice sharp cheddar. Thanks for a great, easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosie_C October 18, 2010

Yum! I love recipes that use 1/2 ww flour and 1/2 ap. I too added some cheese to it, for me it was parmesan. I'll be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 March 28, 2010

Easy and tastes great. Very similar to a biscuit in texture. I used 1 cup bread flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup all purpose flour. I threw in about 1/4 cup of grated mizithra cheese which was a wonderful addition. Will definitely make this again. Thanks so much for posting. . .made for PHOTO TAG.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride January 12, 2010
Green Onion Quick Bread