12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you for this recipe. This is my first attempt at making granola from scratch. It was so quick and easy... and so delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nancie369 May 06, 2015

Why am I buying granola at the store?? Never again. I've never seen a recipe so easy as this! Now my mixture didn't bind together when I pressed it down so there was no breaking up to do. In fact after 20 minutes it wasn't getting brown so I divided it between two pans and uped the temp to 375 and after 20 minutes more it was browned lightly and just perfect. The sweetness is just as I like. You must try this. I'll throw out my other recipies with 20 ingredients!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Born2cook January 12, 2011

Fantastic granola, it has been years since I made any but with the price of good quality organic brands, it was time to have another go at it. This is an ideal recipe because it's so easy and you can customize as you wish. This time I made half the batch, which nearly filled my canning/storage jar, and left out the walnuts. I think the amount of maple sweetness is perfect. Thanks for another great one Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner January 08, 2011

This granola is awesome!!!! It is perfectly sweet, has a lovely array of flavours plus it is super easy and rather quick to make. What more could you wish for?! LOVED this! :)
I reduced the butter by half adding a tad water to the syrup to make up for the missing liquid and it worked out nicely. For the fruits I used half raisins and half currants which added a lovely fruityness.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this winner with us, Sharon! It will be a staple in our house from now on.
Made and reviewed during your Cookathon October 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula October 20, 2010

The whole family liked this. I didn't add any dried fruit, b/c we are split between craisins & raisins. So I let everyone add their own at the table.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply November 09, 2009

LOVE~LOVE~LOVE the flavor of this granola as well as how simple it is to make. Oh, not to mention that it is a true taste from my past :o) Though I never went to the Green Mountain Inn, I did spend a lot of time hiking the trails at the Von Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe. Thank you Sharon for sharing this wonderful recipe. Coming from a Green Mountain Girl who now lives in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Made and reviewed for the 24th AUS/NZ Swap. Jan. 09

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate January 06, 2009

Great recipe! Different from out usual granola, but just as addictive! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookinwaitress October 02, 2008

This was the first time I had a go at granola - I loved it and its so easy to make! The sad thing is I've run out of maple syrup which is hard to get here...sigh! Thanks for this yummy breakfast recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose July 05, 2008

Wonderful granola recipe. I've made it three times now, we have it most mornings for breakfast before work. I have added the craisins and raisins. Next time will add the dates, hadn't thought of that. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susang September 29, 2007

This is great granola!! Tasty and crunchy!! Added some cranberries and raisins. Next time (because there will be a next time, for sure!), I will try adding some dates and apricots. Thanks Sharon - this is delicious!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie September 25, 2007
Green Mountain Granola