Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Cilantro Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Cilantro Rice

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2010

      Great recipe! Served this with Chicken Enchiladas #23052 by Wendy W88. I prepared it on the stovetop as suggested by others, otherwise I didn't change a thing. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      I can't handle spicy, HOWEVER, I made this yesterday, along w/157068 and I liked this one over that one! (I might combine the two dishes though!?) I used Poblano b/c it's milder and I really, really loved this!! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      Delicious and not too hot! Knew we would like as has our favorite ingredients. Made as posted including in oven because I needed my skillet to make Chicken Avocado which goes perfectly with this. Next time I am going to try with brown rice.Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      Very flavorful! I cooked completely on stovetop and added cilantro at end. Will be using this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2012

      Very good. Will make again and again. Update: Have made twice now with brown rice and cannot tell it is brown rice. This is now my wife's favorite rice and I'm making it again today (Mother's Day). Leftover rice is good for using in stuffed peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      I made this for Mother's Day, 05-08-11, and it was GREAT! I used green chilies to cut the heat and everyone loved it! I will make this many more times to come! Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      This was good and I'm sure I will make it again. We weren't wild about the main dish I served this with, so my opinion may be a bit skewed. Definitely want to make it again and will pair it with something else (that I know we like).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Well I found a way to screw this up big time, but I recovered it a bit. I didn't realize that my can of chiles that I was throwing in was twice the size of what is stated here in the recipe. When I tasted it straight out of the oven, it was so hot and spicy that it was barely edible. I stirred in some sour cream and fat free half & half to tame some of that spice. It worked pretty well, and it made for a delicious creamy version of this. I want to make it again the right way, and just throw in a couple of jalapeno rings because I would still prefer that to my creamy version. I was glad I could salvage it though :-) Great recipe for all of us cilantro lovers...just don't overspice like I did ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      I love cilantro and I love this rice!! There is so much flavor in this it's ridiculous. YUM! I added like 6-7 jalapeno rings which my dad had made and WOW oh WOW did it have a bite, but oh so good. I too made the rice on the stove and added the cilantro after the rice had cooked to keep its bright color. Great recipe! Thanks Laura Lee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      The smell is delicious and so is the taste of this rice without the jalapeno which I didnt add as we dont like spicy hot. I served the rice as Middle Eastern which worked perfect without the jalapeno. I replaced the butter with canola oil as we are dairy free. I used white Basmati rice which was great and homemade chicken stock, sea salt and freshly ground black pepper. I served this with Bamieh(Okra) and Lamb (Middle East, Palestine). I will definitely make this rice again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Excellent, loved this rice. I used 1 tbsp of oil and had to use jalapeno from a jar, next time I will use green chiles. This produced a fluffy, perfect rice. Will make often, thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Very yummy! Added green onions to it like in another recipe, otherwise everything the same. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      This was very good! I am not fond of the spanish or mexican rice that has tomato sauce in it, and had been looking for a recipe to go with enchiladas. My favorite restaurant rice is called Cilantro Rice (Escalante's). I wouldn't say this was all that much like it, but had a similar flavor, and has been the best alternative side dish for Mexican food I have tried making so far. My friend was allergic to onion and didn't want too much jalapeno, so without those adjustments, I might like it even more! LOL! It was mild, with a good flavor, and an excellent side dish to go with green chicken enchiladas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      I have been looking for this recipe for years. It has a very nice flavor! It did seem very salty to me, but that could have been because I used homemade chicken broth. The only thing I changed was I added 4oz of canned chopped mild devained jalapenos instead of the 1-2 listed and I also used brown rice which was wonderful but needed to cook about an hour with double the chicken broth to keep it cooking. Thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      This was fantastic! I used the advice of the chefs who cooked it on the stove top because I didn't want to dirty another dish. Turned out perfectly! Served it with fajitas and it was the perfect side dish. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      This is a nice change from Spanish rice and I will use it regularly. I used what I had on hand to make this recipe so I only had about half of the cilantro called for and I also used canned green chilies because that is what I had in the pantry. The dish was still good, but next time I will make sure I have enough cilantro and will use a jalapeno as I thought it could use more flavor. Prep note: I did transfer rice to a baking dish before putting in the oven. The dish I used was a deep dish casserole and the cooking time was more like 70 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      I love this recipe, I have been using it for all my mexican food dishes (which is alot!) I only use 1 cup rice/2 cups chicken stock, since mostly serving just 2 of us. Oh, and I do it completely on the stovetop for about 20 minutes. Love, Love, Love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      This was a wonderful, flavorful rice recipe, BUT, maybe since I used brown rice, I should have simmered it on the stove top a bit longer. The rice wasn't completely tender. I will try it again, but wil give the rice a longer cook time, and maybe less or a browning time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      This dish is delicious and very easy to make. The aroma while cooking is wonderful. It was served with fish tacos and Garlic Coleslaw (Col Con Aderezo De Ajo) as part of a Cinco de Mayo dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Cilantro Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.0
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    25%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 25.1 mg
    8%
    Sodium 398.1 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes