24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The Middle East meets Mexico -- what a splendid idea! It really *does* whip up in 5 minutes, and tastes better than anything store-bought, at half the price. Think I might try adding a little cilantro next time, but it's just lovely as is!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole September 11, 2010

This is the easiest hummus I've ever made - and one of the best! I wasn't expecting to like it quite as much as I do. I used a little tin of jalapenos, and am serving it alongside some sturdy tortilla chips. I left out the cayenne since it's plenty spicy as-is. I love using lime instead of lemon, although the lime flavour isn't coming through all that much next to the peppers. "IF" there are any leftovers, it will make a fabulous sandwich spread. Thanks Rita, great one to know!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner August 20, 2010

DH loved this!! Made a great dip for a huge array of veggies. I used plenty of cayenne and topped with a bit of green onion. Was hoping there would be some left for wraps & veggie burgers but it was gone!! Super simple recipe with superb results! Thanks Rita!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious August 06, 2010

Terrific! I wanted to make hummus but had limes, not the lemons that are traditionally used. This recipe saved the day. I'm a huge fan of anything made with green chilies and this recipe is no exception. I used three limes because the ones I have aren't very juicy. I also added some water to thin it out a tad. I'll be making this again I'm sure. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. July 10, 2010

WOW, ~Rita~, what a FANTASTIC recipe and such a great twist on hummus! I luved the garlic and chili in this as well as the touch of cayenne. Mmmm, so good! I used a little less oil to make this more a spread than a dip. So velvety and smooth! I will certainly make this recipe again! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful recipe with us! Made and reviewed for I Recommend Tag Game May 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 19, 2010

I used roasted hatch chili peppers with this and it was DELICIOUS. Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christyporterfield August 20, 2009

LOVE IT!!! Thank you for an awesome dip! Changes I made were because of what I had on hand. I used lemon juice, a little more garlic (personal choice), 2 cans of beans (because I wanted more volume) and a couple teaspoons of Tony Chacheres Creole Seasoning in place of the salt+pepper+cayenne, and of course the chilies and olive oil. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merry Cook May 04, 2009

A very good twist on hummus! I love the heat in this and it's so much more affordable than store bought, and of course tastier :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean March 02, 2009

Easy and tasty! Much tastier than store-bought hummus!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BasilBee April 06, 2008

LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! Thanks Rita. super yummo just as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 July 29, 2014
Green Chili Hummus Dip