Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Chili

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2004

      Fabulous chili cg! The flavor was amazing. I used 1 pound of boneless pork chops, and 1 pound of ground pork. And I didn't have any cumin seeds, so I ended up using 2 tbsp of ground cumin--yum! I also had to sub white wine vinegar for the red--someone finished it and didn't tell me, lol. Anyway, everything else was done just as your recipe says. If anyone is thinking that 2 onions is a lot, trust me, it isn't. They really cook down. So--the meat was very tender and the chili simmered for about 1 1/2 hours. The house smelled so good. I would make this again in a heartbeat--beans and all! Oh! You HAVE to put the grated cheese and dollop of sour cream on your bowl of this chili--it is delicious! Thanks cg! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2013

      We really liked this chili! Cut down to 1/2 recipe. I didn't end up adding all the water and let it cook for 2-3 hours to make it a little thicker (with lid off). The long cook time also made the pork really tender. Didn't have any fresh jalapenos, so used a little jarred pickled ones with a little brine added in. My toddler son ate my whole bowl, even though it was a little on the spicy side!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      After reading the reviews I added only 1qt water, simmered it a couple hours uncovered, add an extra jalapeno and 2 habanero peppers (if you love spice food its a must) and it was EXCELLENT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      This was the best chili I have ever had. As another reviewer said, there was too much water but after I let it cook down for 2 hours, it was the best flavored chili ever! I used only 1lb of ground turkey instead of the 2 lbs of pork to make it healthier and I cut the cumin in half since my husband doesn't like it much. I left out the cumin seed altogether. I also substituted 2 TBS of dried cilantro since I did not have fresh. This is a keeper for sure! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      Good flavor! A bit too much water for my taste, but that will be easily remedied the next time I make this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Great chili! We made this for the Superbowl and followed the recipe as written. Even better the second day. My husband doesn't throw out five stars very often and he wants this to be our family chili recipe from now on. Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      Agree with other postings, this is amazing after the flavors meld. Way worth the time to make it the night before & reheat!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      this was some damn good chili! i made it for a new years eve party and it was a huge hit, one friend said it was the best he'd ever tasted. i used boneless country style rib meat, and substituted a can (12 oz ?) of sliced pickled jalapenos instead of raw peppers. i let it simmer for hours, adding the beans about an hour before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      I originally gave this one four stars, but then I let it set for a few more hours. This is a great chili recipe. I should have doubled it- my husband and father almost came to blows over the last bowl. Both said it was the best chili they had ever had, and they have had a lot of chili. The recipe is fairly easy as well. My only complaint was that, based on the title of the recipe, I was expecting the chili to be green, which it is not. (should have seen that coming from the 3 T of chili powder, but I didn't).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      This is my new favorite chili recipe! I adapted it for my large crock pot. I used very lean stew beef instead of pork, and 6 cups low sodium beef broth instead of boullion and water. I put everything in the crock pot except the beans and cilantro and let simmer at 250 degrees (low) for 8 hours. I added the beans and cilantro 1/2 hour before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2006

      This was really excellent! I used nice thin cut pork chops cut up and it turned out great! Thanks for this great recipe as it will become a staple in my recipe book now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (568 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 481.1
     
    Calories from Fat 195
    40%
    Total Fat 21.7 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 75.9 mg
    25%
    Sodium 135.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 33.1 g
    66%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beef double bouillon cubes

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites