15 Reviews

Here are suggestions as to how to improve this recipe, from an Arizona/New Mexico green chile stew aficionado/fanatic. Avoid canned chiles. They dissolve to nothing and are tasteless. Authentic New Mexico GCS is made with Anaheims or Big Jims. Buy them already roasted on-line from Hatch, NM or get them at the store and roast yourself. DON’T add cumin. DON"T use beer: use chicken, beef, or vegetable stock [Wolfgang Puck Veg stock is really good. Use FRESH oregano. Also add fresh chopped thyme This recipe calls for way too much stove time - brown the meat first, than simmer only until the meat is very tender -one hour should be enough. Double the garlic. Dredge the cubed meat in seasoned flour and brown quickly. The flower helps thicken the stew. Also, try dredging the meat before browning in Masa Harina [Mexican corn meal flour] for a nice flavor. Use pork shoulder, trimmed of excess fat. You need a good fat content for flavor. It makes a big difference! The BEST GCS on the planet is at Tia Sophias in Santa Fe, on San Francisco across from the Lensic. they use beef, not pork. Try both ways!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve in Scottsdale July 10, 2008

this was great!! i made this for the office to have for lunch and every morsel was devoured. i used an almost 3 lbs. pork tenderloin and kept everything else the same but added fresh poblano, more roasted chiles from the freezer (the last of my fall batch :() and some chicken bouillion along with the beer. served with green chile cheese mini corn muffins, fritos scoops, sour cream and shredded cheese. will make again, great flavor, this one's a keeper!! using your own chiles are key with a recipe like this, you can't achieve that flavor with regular canned green chiles. thanks for posting!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD January 19, 2010

After a trip to Hatch, NM for the chile festival and 50lbs of roasted chiles, I was looking for lots of recipes. This was so good ! I used a little more than 2 cups of chiles and it was very spicy! Which is what I wanted ! I used 1 can of beer and about 2 cans of beef broth. It was perfect ! I will be making this again and again ! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzie #5 November 28, 2007

Regretfully, this did not work out quite as I hoped. It smelled great and tasted spicy (homegrown poblanos were great), but oddly flavorless. I used only one can of beer and deglazed the saute pan. This was cooked in the crockpot and was very tender, just not as flavorful as I had hoped. If I do this again, I'll use some broth, perhaps that will add some depth of flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte November 18, 2007

I live in the southwest and have searched for a "real" green chile stew recipe. This one fits the bill...I went heavy on the garlic and onion, and subbed broth for some of the beer liquid, and it turned out great! Perfect for cold season and winter! Although the resident Mexican food cook at my work says NO CUMIN!!! But it's what you like...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
demingrefugee October 30, 2007

We liked this a lot. I left out the potato and cut the meat a bit smaller than I would have done for stew and cut back on the beer just a tad. I knew my husband would want to eat this in a warm corn tortilla with guacamole. Thumbs up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaniseW November 05, 2005

I had high expectations for this recipe since all the previous reviewers liked it so much. I followed the directions to a "t" and just wasn't blown away by it. It smelled great while cooking but the taste was rather mild. I was really expecting it to be HOT--maybe my chiles weren't the right kind. I didn't add tomatoes but think that might have been a good addition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimke August 09, 2005

Very good and easy. But too my families taste buds, kinda mild.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 August 02, 2005

My husband made this for a super bowl party, and it received rave reviews. He says it was pretty easy to make, and the flavor was delicious, over burritos or in a bowl. He added too a can of diced tomatoes. It smelled wonderful as it was cooking! Thanks for sharing such a good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rochsann February 09, 2005

Absolutely love this recipe! I used to live in southern Colorado, and this is the first chile that I've had that reminded me of the great Mexican food that I left behind. The potatoes seemed like an odd addition, but it works.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buckybadgerfans December 12, 2004
Green Chile Stew