11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very easy and very good. Even my 16 mos old devoured it!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimke June 10, 2003

I included onions, garlic and tomatoes. Good flavor but too heavy with the rice, in my opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stonecoldcrazy April 04, 2011

I made this strictly according to the recipe and it was very good, but I think I may modify it next time...I'll add the tomatoes as others have suggested, and have a little less sour cream. This was really great and had lots of flavor! It's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vineyardhunter October 01, 2010

This was fantastic and oh-so-easy!! Really delish! I opted to not add the tomatoes; mainly because I didn't feel the dish needed it and I was right. Plenty tasty without them. The only things that I did differently, were to add s&p to taste (as I really didn't see much "salt" in any of the ingredients) and I didn't do the parmesan (and THAT'S because I forgot it!!). I nuked the diced chicken in a covered casserole until it was nearly cooked...super easy! The ingredients didn't specify the size of the rice box...and they vary according to brands (I saw them from 4.0 oz. to 8 oz.). I used a 6.0 oz. box of Near East Long Grain & Wild Rice and I think it was the perfect size. I think, otherwise, the size might affect how moist/dry the casserole turns out. A real keeper and something that will be made often in our house! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purplemoon2008 February 28, 2008

My husband loves this dish! I've added cumin and cayenne pepper to the sour cream mixture and it's great. I've also substituted whatever cheese I have and it's still great. We love this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aprylle_powers June 18, 2007

I'm sorry to give such a low rating, but this did not work at all for my family. I basically followed the recipe as written, with the addition of the drained can of tomatoes suggested by other reviewers. It turned into a mushy mess... very little flavor & an unpleasant texture. I don't know what went wrong, but we won't be trying this one again. Thanks anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyMCGS February 08, 2007

This was actually much better than I had expected. I followed the advice of another reviewer and added a can of Rotel tomatoes to the rice mixture. This provided some much needed flavor for the dish. I also omitted the parmesan cheese. I would make again with the designated changes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. February 03, 2007

I forgot to add stars when I first reviewed this! Oops. This is a great dish! First, it pre-cooks really well. On Saturday I made the chicken, the rice, and grated the cheese. Then I assembled and cooked on Tuesday - couldn't have been easier. The only changes I made were to add more sour cream and green chile and to use an 8x8 pan instead. I'm a sauce/gravy lover so I don't like dry. The first time I made this it the rice was a little dry. Last night with the extra sour cream it was perfect. Creamy, not dry at all. It's a keeper - we'll be having this often. —

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Rum July 21, 2006

Delicious! I mixed the sour cream mixture with the chicken to make layering easier, and I topped each serving with salsa. I will be making this often! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriM3 January 26, 2006
Green Chile Chicken