Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Cabbage and Apple Sauté Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Cabbage and Apple Sauté

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 16, 2011

      I found it to be somewhat bland. I prefer the cabbage sauteed without the liquid marinate, I like the taste when it browns a bit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      Very good, I had about 2 pounds of cabbage that I used so it didn't make a whole lot. Don't let the smell deter you, this tastes delicious. I did not peel my apples but if I make it again I will. All the flavors go together nicely. Would make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

    • on May 15, 2012

      I should have halved this. I didn't cook it the 20 minutes...after 10 it was done enough for us. The apples still had a nice bite to them. I like how the onions caramelized. I also subbed white grape juice since I never have Riesling on hand. It went well with the gulash & everybody liked it! Made for German Tag Contest 5/12.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2011

      I made it a few times before but never posted a review. We find it very tasty, I usually serve it with some kind of potatoes and sausages. Marinade gives cabbage a nice tang and cabbage never gets soggy during cooking,thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      This was a very good accompaniment to the ham and cheesy scalloped potatoes we had last night! I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      D really liked this, and I thought it had potential but was a bit sour for my taste. Make sure you put enough salt in at the end. We may try it again with caraway seeds and maybe fresher riesling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

    • on August 17, 2009

      Great dinner tonight. This cabbage recipe is super good. I didn't have an open bottle of Reisling and I didn't feel like wine tonight so I subbed Apple juice - GREAT. I used no oil. Served with Corned Beef WOW what a combination. I did it in my wok and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      This was excellent. I too used the cole slaw mix and served with pork tenderloin and mashed potatoes. Great meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

    • on December 30, 2007

      Served this with pork chops and boiled potatoes. It was an awesome combination! The cabbage was simple to prepare and I loved the sweetness of the apples with the cabbage and there was a subtle wine flavor that enhanced the whole dish. I did sub pinot grigio for the riesling, but I don't think it changed the end flavor too much, it was terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

    • on June 12, 2006

      This is amazing! It was simple and pure delight to eat! PERFECT with grilled pork loin!! Thank you Cheryl!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      A truly wonderful recipe and a great ZWT discovery: a great combination of flavours which we all loved! I made this for the 2006 ZWT German spirits challenge! This would be a great side dish with any meat dishes. We enjoyed it with meatloaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      I love cabbage and apples together, and this was perfect! I think the Granny Smith apples are wonderful with the cabbage. Simple yet tasty. Sweet but not too sweet. I'll make this again. Thanx for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      This is great! There is an old sailor's saying that you shouldn't go cruising without at least 5 cabbage recipes (because it keeps for weeks without refrigeration). Well this recipe is definitely going with us next season. It is so tasty . . . DH didn't even know he was eating cabbage! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      I also have never had cabbage and apples together...I wish I'd served it with pork. I halved the recipe but otherwise followed the directions. A tasty and different way to serve cabbage that I'll make again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      First time I ever tried this combination too and it turned out great. BF also insisted I give this 5 stars. I did use a Riesling that was fruity and slightly sweet. I halved the recipe and used a bagged cole slaw mix myself. Other than that I only used about 2 teaspoons oil which worked just fine. Excellent recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      Awesome. I have never hd these two together. Very nice. I used a chardonnay bc no reisling here- never any wine leftover! lol I 'cheated' and used some 'leftover' shredded 'angel hair' prebagged cabbage and it was amazingly fast. I was a afraid I would overcook it bc it was shredded so finely but it came out fabulous. Very nice flavor combo. LOVED it! I should not have worried so much. This was such and easy and forgiving recipe. I also used some leftover diced onion rather than slicing a new onion. Even though I did my best to 'flub' it up it came out beautiful and tasty! My kinda recipe! Thanks Cheryl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Cabbage and Apple Sauté

    Serving Size: 1 (368 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 224.4
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    37%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 44.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 18.1 g
    72%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes