20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I found it to be somewhat bland. I prefer the cabbage sauteed without the liquid marinate, I like the taste when it browns a bit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noa September 16, 2011

Very good, I had about 2 pounds of cabbage that I used so it didn't make a whole lot. Don't let the smell deter you, this tastes delicious. I did not peel my apples but if I make it again I will. All the flavors go together nicely. Would make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon V. Holmes January 24, 2013

I should have halved this. I didn't cook it the 20 minutes...after 10 it was done enough for us. The apples still had a nice bite to them. I like how the onions caramelized. I also subbed white grape juice since I never have Riesling on hand. It went well with the gulash & everybody liked it! Made for German Tag Contest 5/12.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo May 15, 2012

I made it a few times before but never posted a review. We find it very tasty, I usually serve it with some kind of potatoes and sausages. Marinade gives cabbage a nice tang and cabbage never gets soggy during cooking,thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arichka October 07, 2011

This was a very good accompaniment to the ham and cheesy scalloped potatoes we had last night! I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
verdamc February 07, 2011

D really liked this, and I thought it had potential but was a bit sour for my taste. Make sure you put enough salt in at the end. We may try it again with caraway seeds and maybe fresher riesling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle from Central Time December 25, 2009

Great dinner tonight. This cabbage recipe is super good. I didn't have an open bottle of Reisling and I didn't feel like wine tonight so I subbed Apple juice - GREAT. I used no oil. Served with Corned Beef WOW what a combination. I did it in my wok and it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy August 17, 2009

This was excellent. I too used the cole slaw mix and served with pork tenderloin and mashed potatoes. Great meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J Patricia March 09, 2009
Green Cabbage and Apple Sauté