Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Beans With Lemon and Pine Nuts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Beans With Lemon and Pine Nuts

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2010

      I have never, ever liked fresh green beans. Despised them, in fact. For some odd reason, I decided to give this recipe a try and WOW! This recipe is going into heavy rotation at my house. The pine nuts and the lemon zest add such a complex flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      Served this at a dinner party and everone seemed to enjoy the beans, but the nuts all sifted to the bottom of the bowl and were difficult to get. I love pine nuts so this was a real disappointment. Anyone else have this issue? We still liked the flavor very much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      I am so used to just steaming veggies and eating them plain that this was a nice treat! I still steamed them, but then added the extras. Sadly, the rabbits got to the parsley in my garden so I added basil instead. And my pine nuts were toasted (adds that extra yum factor when you toast nuts!). I will make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      Really nice, light, flavorful way to serve fresh green beans. Use the full amount of parsley for best results.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2014

      These were great. I squeezed a little lemon juice on them too. A really good olive oil turns these up a notch as well. We are big veggie eaters, so this fed 4-5 for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      We enjoyed these beans. Very nice. We thought more lemon should be present which is contrary to some other posters but we like lemon. The pine nuts and parsley were lovely. They both provided texture and the pine nuts, a nutty flavor as well. These fresh beans paired nicely with steak and white rice. Easy to make although we had to cook our beans a bit longer for personal preference because at time allotted they were too crispy for us. Tip: serve in a, smaller than you think, shallow rectangular or oval bowl to keep pine nuts from falling to the bottom. Thanks for posting Annacia. We would definitely make again. Enjoy! ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      Loved these! Used fresh green beans and everything except the fresh parsley. So wonderful as a side to chicken and rice. I'll definitely make these again....they are quick, easy, and delicious.....also I usually have all the ingredients on hand. Thanks Annacia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2011

      I used canned beans. A bit heavy on the lemon for me. A good change of pace.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      Super easy and quick to make. Complemented our dinner of sweet and saucy tacos and rice well. I used half wax beans and half green beans. Fresh parsley from the garden as well. Reviewed for Veg Tag November.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      Delicious green beans! Loved the additional flavor and crunch of the pine nuts! This is a definite keeper. Made for Veg N Swap #20.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      A lovely side dish. I cut the beans and toasted the nuts ahead of time and just before serving, used my microplaner to grate the lemon. I probably used a little bit more than was required, but we enjoyed it. An option would be to add a small finely chopped garlic to the mix and some salt and freshly grated pepper. I did not have any parsley, so I did not use it. If you cut the beans into smaller size pieces, the pine nuts won't sink down as much into the dish ...and when you serve, stir the beans and nuts each time, so that the beans/pine nut mixture is well distributed again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      I love green beans and this is a wonderful way to serve them. I used a bit more zest than called for. Next time I'll leave out the parsley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Green beans are a great standby vegetable and I am always looking for new and different ways to prepare them. This has a very lightl lemon flavor and the toasted pine nuts add not only to the flavor but provide a nice crunch. The only thing I might do is to add a touch of lemon juice for a slightly stronger lemon flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      Very yummy side dish. I paired them with steak and potatoes all with a lemon flair. My hubby didn't love the pine nuts, I guess he is more of a traditionalist (read bore) about his green beans, but I will still make them again for my son and I. Reviewed for ZWTIII

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      Great recipe, Annacia, just great! So easy to put together, too! I like the combo of pine nuts & the taste of lemon, & the only thing I changed was to reduce the mount of olive oil [almost by half]. This will certainly be on my 'to-make-again' list! Many thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      I liked this, but even being a lemon lover I found the lemon zest a little overpowering in this.. LOVED the pine nuts though and will definiately make it again, with just the pine nuts and no zest. Considering the rave reviews that the other reviewers gave this, it *HAS* to be just personal taste here, because I'm so much the odd one out... I just found it too lemon-ey.. and bite my tongue I never say THAT very often! Please see my rating system: an excellent recipe to have tried and tasted but which unfortunately wasn't suited to our tastes .. at least as written. I will make it again though, becuase the addition of the pine nuts does make the texture of the dish a whole lot more interesting, Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      Green beans are my absolute favorite vegetable (lima beans a close second) and I adored this recipe! I usually add almonds when I fix green beans, but I just loved the pine nuts with them. These were so good that I could eat all eight servings by myself. Thanks for sharing, Annacia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      I really liked this simple & tasty way to fix green beans. They look great on the plate, and I enjoyed the pine nuts mixed into this recipe. I did cut my green beans much longer than the 1/2 inch long described in the recipe. Mine were between 1-2 inches and seemed to be a good lenghth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      I have to be honest - I was SHOCKED at how good this dish was. Totally shocked. It was just terrific - So much so that my dinner guest and I ate every last bean out of the bowl WITH OUR FINGERS because we couldn't get enough of them even after we were full.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      Delicious! Loved the mix of nuts and green beans - simple but effective!! Thanks Annacia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Beans With Lemon and Pine Nuts

    Serving Size: 1 (92 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.1
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    63%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes