21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have never, ever liked fresh green beans. Despised them, in fact. For some odd reason, I decided to give this recipe a try and WOW! This recipe is going into heavy rotation at my house. The pine nuts and the lemon zest add such a complex flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muppetcow January 25, 2010

Served this at a dinner party and everone seemed to enjoy the beans, but the nuts all sifted to the bottom of the bowl and were difficult to get. I love pine nuts so this was a real disappointment. Anyone else have this issue? We still liked the flavor very much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenlyn33922 August 24, 2007

I am so used to just steaming veggies and eating them plain that this was a nice treat! I still steamed them, but then added the extras. Sadly, the rabbits got to the parsley in my garden so I added basil instead. And my pine nuts were toasted (adds that extra yum factor when you toast nuts!). I will make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MA HIKER July 02, 2007

Really nice, light, flavorful way to serve fresh green beans. Use the full amount of parsley for best results.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coffeegoat March 19, 2007

These were great. I squeezed a little lemon juice on them too. A really good olive oil turns these up a notch as well. We are big veggie eaters, so this fed 4-5 for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito March 19, 2014

We enjoyed these beans. Very nice. We thought more lemon should be present which is contrary to some other posters but we like lemon. The pine nuts and parsley were lovely. They both provided texture and the pine nuts, a nutty flavor as well. These fresh beans paired nicely with steak and white rice. Easy to make although we had to cook our beans a bit longer for personal preference because at time allotted they were too crispy for us. Tip: serve in a, smaller than you think, shallow rectangular or oval bowl to keep pine nuts from falling to the bottom. Thanks for posting Annacia. We would definitely make again. Enjoy! ChefDLH

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDLH September 30, 2013

Loved these! Used fresh green beans and everything except the fresh parsley. So wonderful as a side to chicken and rice. I'll definitely make these again....they are quick, easy, and delicious.....also I usually have all the ingredients on hand. Thanks Annacia!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 28, 2012

I used canned beans. A bit heavy on the lemon for me. A good change of pace.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyteglori July 15, 2011

Super easy and quick to make. Complemented our dinner of sweet and saucy tacos and rice well. I used half wax beans and half green beans. Fresh parsley from the garden as well. Reviewed for Veg Tag November.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl November 03, 2010

Delicious green beans! Loved the additional flavor and crunch of the pine nuts! This is a definite keeper. Made for Veg N Swap #20.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo March 10, 2010
Green Beans With Lemon and Pine Nuts