Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Beans With Lemon and Almonds Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Beans With Lemon and Almonds

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 23, 2013

      Kittencal has the best recipes. I made this for a family potluck and doubled the recipe. I made it as written. It was a big hit. I think the next time I make it, however, I will decrease the almonds. We ended up with most of the almonds in the bottom of the bowl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      Great! I used only 4 tbsp of butter and would decrease it a bit more next time and increase the lemon and pepper. Loved the pairing of the almonds with the beans. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Served these for company recently and everyone wanted the recipe! They were incredibly easy to prepare and best of all can be made hours ahead of time and then put in the microwave just before serving. Lissa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

    • on December 20, 2009

      Great dish. Lemon zest and almond give the dish a fabulous taste! I would use half of the butter portion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Yeah Kittencal. I know I am not "normal" but I really don't like the traditional Thanksgiving green bean casserole. I love still crunchy cooked green beans! When everyone said that "we have to have green beans at Thanksgiving" I decided to give these a try. ALL agreed that this is the go to recipe for special dinners. It would be for EVERY dinner except the butter does not help with my ever expanding waist. But what a treat and so much better than the alternative. Thank you, thank you, thank you for introducing all of us to a new Thanksgiving side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      These are fabulous! I made them as part of Thanksgiving dinner because I was trying to avoid having "gloppy" food. I used sliced almonds and used lemon zest instead of slicing the rind. It was amazing! One of the stars of the meal! I will definitely be making this on Thanksgiving from now on! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      What a delicious way to eat green beans! I have made beans with almonds plenty of times but the freshness from the lemon rind and fresh parsely really makes a much more flavorful impact. I made these beans for a party and I added julienne carrots-everyone went wild for the dish! Thanks for another great recipe, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      Excellent! This went down really well at home. I added a little fresh lemon juice, which gave the almonds a lovely flavour. Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      I slighly under cooked *(steamed) the beans and fried the almonds and beans together rather than seperately. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      These beans were so good, even my 3 and 6 year old who don't like beans said "GIVE IT A 5!" I used pecans as suggested, because I always have some in the freezer from my parents pecan tree in their back yard in Alabama. They toasted up wonderfully and gave so much flavor! Even though it wouldn't be as pretty, I might make it with lime peel on occasion too, because I LOVE lime even more than lemon. I served these with Kittencal's Juicy Hamburger/Burger (no buns) topped with Kittencal's Caramelized Onions, and along side The Best One-Bowl Hash Brown Potato Casserole. Home cooking at it's absolute finest! Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for a green bean recipe that even the kiddos will eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2007

      These were great, cooking times excellent~ my beans were the perfect texture. A nice subtle lemon flavor. As mentioned, you could use less butter and next time I will, I didn't find I needed nearly as much, although maybe my diet brain was being oversensitive! I think that this is best served with something that isn't too overpowering for an entree so that this dish gets the attention it deserves. I'll be serving this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      This was simple to prepare and very good! A great way to make an ordinary side dish special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2006

      Kittencal, I made this for Thanksgiving and it worked out very well...it required very little prep and was fast to put together at the last minute (I mocrowaved the beans until tender crisp just before throwing them in the pan with the browned almonds). The end result was quite colorful. The only change I made was to only use 3-4 tbsps of butter...it seemed to be more than enough. Thank you for a very nice addition to my Thanksgiving menu, kittencal! M&Mers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      Perfect veggie for dinner tonight. I had fresh green beans in the freezer that I had blanched and I used those. I didn't have any lemon zest so I gave it a squirt of lemon juice instead. The almonds topped it off. Yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      I didn't think green beans could get any better until I tasted this recipe. These beans are wonderful. Very easy to prepare with a very special taste which could easily be used for entertaining. I could have eaten a meal of these beans alone ~ they are that good : ) Kittencal, Thanks for the recipes ; )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      I did not have the fresh green beans so I used frozen french cut beans. I did reduce the amount of butter. The combination of toasted almonds and lemon zest make a wonderful addition to this wonderful vegetable dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      Great Beans!!!! These are simply delicious! The almonds really lend a flavor that sits well with the combination of the lemon zest and parsley! These are a wonderful side dish! They are even good cold!! Thanks Kitz!!! I will make these again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Beans With Lemon and Almonds

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 457.0
     
    Calories from Fat 348
    76%
    Total Fat 38.7 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 14.2 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 53.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 276.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 12.1 g
    48%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites