148 Reviews

Quick, easy and a new go to side for my future dinners. In the summer when beans and tomatoes are in season, and fresh basil is abundant, this is going to be sooooo gooood!!! Thanks for sharing.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Bob #99 March 06, 2013

Super easy and fast! Very tasty. My daughter said it was like eating at a fancy restaurant! This one's a keeper - thanks!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marble-Matrix February 10, 2013

I decided to make this for our Christmas Day dinner and the family loved it. I did use canned green beans but the fresh tomatoes, garlic, basil and butter and yes - sugar?!?! made for a delightful fresh bright flavor. It was perfect side dish to all the heavy dishes that normally accompany the ham. I can't wait to try this again with fresh green beans! Thanks for a wonderful, quick dish we'll be making often!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ December 26, 2012

OMG,this is the best recipe for green beans. Thank you so much. I don't usually give 5 star reviews,this recipe is superb, delicious,I didn't need to change a thing. I now love green beans and can't wait to make it again.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arichka August 27, 2012

I made this as directed. I made it again and substitued Mrs. Dash for the basil, which is more suited to my taste. It was tasty the first time but excellent the second time. I also used plum tomatoes and peeled them first, then diced them.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SwoR~ September 15, 2002

you deffantly dont need 45 min this will b done in @ 15 with all garden fresh food

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessyeK77 June 22, 2013

I was looking for a lighter, simpler green bean recipe to use instead of the heavy, rich green bean casserole we traditionally make during the holidays. This one sounded interesting and we gave it try. So glad i did! Wonderful, flavorful beans! Plus, the red tomatoes and green beans make this a beautiful dish for Christmas! The ever so slightly sweet, basil coating was fantastic! Served these beans yesteday at a family, Christmas gathering and everyone loved these. Folks expected steamed green beans but were so pleasantly surprised by the delicious flavor. This will be added to our list of regular standbys. Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgia Dave December 24, 2012

Delicious! Loved this recipe! Didn't have but one can of green beans, so I added a can of drained corn. Worked out great! Will make again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilovemyfamily! May 30, 2012

Awesome green beans and so easy to make if using canned beans. I used a 28 ounce can of cut green beans and we loved them. Perfect seasoning that tastes great plus smells very good! Thinking of making these for the holidays instead of our stand by of green bean casserole. Made and reviewed for Kittencal's
TOMATO-LICIOUS IS HERE !!! September's Photo Event

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 September 29, 2010

I have never loved a recipe enough to leave a review...but this recipe is outstanding! I made it for a BBQ and everyone gobbled them up. I didn't even add the sugar. I made it again the next day I loved it so much. Thank-you for a delicious go-to recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keralcalif July 09, 2010
Green Beans with Cherry Tomatoes