147 Reviews

This was fabulously tasty and easy! I used fresh green beans and that seemed to make a real difference! I didn't have garlic salt so I used garlic powder instead. The combination of butter, sugar, basil and garlic is quite outstanding, and perfect for tomatoes and beans. This makes 4 really generous servings, but even so, this recipe is guaranteed to be gobbled whole... it's really exceptional. Thanks Merlot, this one will be a regular!

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu June 29, 2002

I loved the flavor of this dish and it looks beautiful on the table. I only added a half teaspoon of sugar, as I was afraid it would be too sweet for our tastes, and it was just perfect. Great recipe, thanks for posting!

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! August 21, 2002

AWESOME!!! I agree with all the other reviewers.

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enobmah September 09, 2002

I agree with all the reviews, this is super! The ultimate test was my husband, who doesn't like tomatoes... he said it was VERY good!!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi August 23, 2002

This was a great side dish! I do not expect my son to eat his beans, so when he finished these off, I was shocked! The basil and garlic was not too over powering (because of the sugar?) Yet the flavors all came together to enhanse the flavor of the tomatoes??? I am still not sure why these beans tasted so good to my son, or to myself. I will have to repeat this recipe many times to figure it out I guess.

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookie j August 07, 2002

This dish is delicious. I used a combination of fresh and canned green beans. Everyone enjoyed this, inlcuding one very picky eater. Served it with fresh tuna steaks. Thanks, Merlot!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sybrsuzy July 23, 2002

These are the best green beans I have ever tasted!!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda R September 23, 2002

Thanks, Merlot, for this wonderful recipe. I always have trouble with side dishes but this one was so colorful and the spices and tomatos really jazzed it up!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kosherkitchen March 09, 2003

What a great, light green bean dish! Perfect side dish for heavy meals. I could actually just eat a bowl of this and be happy! I boiled the green beans (in batches since I doubled it), added the ingredients to the fry pan, stirred a little bit, threw in the halved cherry tomatoes and any juice, swished around, then folded in the green beans. There is not a lot of sauce, but it's enough to coat the beans and give them a great flavor. Then I repeated it, threw the whole thing in a bowl and it stayed warm until the turkey was carved. Thank you!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debberd2 December 09, 2010

What a pretty and yummy dish. I'll be making this again. Thanks for posting.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview August 29, 2011
Green Beans with Cherry Tomatoes