Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Beans with Caramelized Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Beans with Caramelized Onions

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2011

      I have made these a couple of times. Frozen whole green beans were just as good as fresh. This recipe is easy and very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      This was a very nice change from an ordinary green bean recipe. We will make this again.
      I sauteed the onions in butter and then added the brown sugar based on other reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      WOW!!! These were AMAZING! Best beans ever. This will be how I make them from now on. But I did notice that as they started to cool the sugar started to turn to glue. Definitely best when hot. Thank you MrsEl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      I think these are the best green beans I have ever made. I did not have fresh green beans, so I bought a package of green and yellow green beans and used those. The caramelized onions and the balsamic vinegar, along with the brown sugar and butter really were a great combination. They only took me about 20 minutes to cook and I served them with Recipe 157418 (Honey Pecan Pork Chops), a green salad and garlic bread. What a wonderful side dish and I will be making this dish again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      YUM! How can you go wrong with caramalized onions. I loved this recipe. It was like green bean candy. I definitely recommend fresh green beans. Next time I make this I'm gonna half the butter and brown sugar. I don't think it would compromise the taste. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2005

      When you can get big grins from dh & dd for a vegetable recipe, you know you've got a 5* dish! This was very easy to make & had a great combination of flavors. I wish fresh green beans weren't so darned expensive here, I would make this much more often! Thanks, MrsEl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

      Yummy! Love the sweet/tangy flavor that it has. I also used Splenda as suggested by Cindytc. And since it is January in Ohio we have nothing that could be considered "fresh" except snow so I used canned beans and they worked just fine too. Thanks for the post MrsEl. These will definitely be made often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      I sauted the onions in the butter and then added the brown sugar. I used fresh green beans with this recipe and boy am I glad I did. Fabulous flavor!! Made this for Thanksgiving dinner and my family loved it. Definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2004

      Made these last night...fantastic, very simple and a wonderful sweet taste, I did not have enough green beans so i added some asparagus, and substituted Splendra for the sugar...turned out perfect..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2004

      I love this recipe for green beans, and we have a bumper crop this year! I'm sure I'll be making them once or twice this season :) It is an easy and quick way to make green beans, especially since you can pre-cook the beans. YUMMY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2004

      excellent way to use up fresh green beans from the garden. delicious and very easy to make. A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2004

      These were great. Fresh green beans from the garden with the caramelized onions, well it just doesn't get any better. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2004

      These are the best green beans ever! I followed the recipe exactly and they were awesome. I can't wait to fix them again! Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2004

      These beans were fabulous! Possibly the best green beans we've had. I used fresh beans, and boiled them until they were still crunchy. I tripled the amount of onions and was glad I did because they were so good... thanks so much Mrs. E, I will definately make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2004

      Absolutely wonderful!! Bergy posted a picture of this dish in EE, and they looked so good I had to try them! Sure glad I did! I did use canned, drained greenbeans, but, it sure didn't hurt this dish. Very easy, very tasty, and I thank you very much for posting. Definitely a 5* winner! Laudee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2004

      Great tasting beans - the touch of Balsamic with the onion compliments the beans perfectly. I used Sweet & Low Brown Sugar substitute. Served with steamed carrots, noodles and Porkchops in Mushroom sauce - Lovely dinner Thanks MrsEl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2004

      Wonderful dish. Mine needed a little salt, however. Also next time I'll cook the onions in a little oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Beans with Caramelized Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.4
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    43%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 60.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 11.7 g
    47%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites