56 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love the colour, love the 'nuttiness' and crunch. The shaved Parmesan is a definite for this vegetable dish. Thanks for another winner Lennie.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* September 15, 2002

Very easy to make. As Lennie said you need a GOOD hard brick parmesan cheese. I guess I used up all my good parmesan and had to go with Kraft Italian Parmesan Wedge.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J August 19, 2002

Definitely an impressive recipe! My husband (who doesn't like veggies as much as I do) loved this recipe! Thank you so much Lennie, if I could give you more than 5 stars I would!!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa October 17, 2002

Very tasty, great way to dress up green beans. I brought them to a Christmas dinner and everyone seemed to like them (either that or they were just being polite!) Very easy to prepare, as well.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherDiane December 27, 2002

A nice change from plain green beans. I especially loved the parmesan cheese flavor, and the walnuts added a great little crunch. Definitely a nice way to dress green beans for company!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeachGirl April 13, 2003

Fantastic way to serve green beans. I used pecans and absolutely loved the result. A vegetable peeler made short work of producing the parmesan shavings. A very quick but quality recipe. Thanks Lennie!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat June 22, 2003

What a flavorful delight! I am not a big fan of fresh parmesan because it is so salty, so I went sparingly on the parmesan shavings. Needless to say, I took the dishes back to the kitchen and shaved away. The parmesan is DELICIOUS on these beans, and so very necessary! This was such a pleasant surprise to me and my husband. Wonderful flavor with the added crunch from the walnuts. This will be a regular side dish in our household. Thanks!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pianolady August 04, 2003

Great recipe! I added onions, which to us made it even better!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephie Biggs June 07, 2003

Brought these for a Thanksgving dinner and they were a big hit. Even the little kids devoured them. My only alteration was to add two cloves of garlic to the butter- made it heavenly - I live for garlic. Thanks for the post.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizeroo October 15, 2003

I love a recipe like this; simple additions that really make a vegetable special. While sauteing the walnuts, my butter got toasty brown and added another flavor dimension. The presentation is nice with the whole beans and shards of parmesan. Great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane dough October 13, 2003
Green Beans To Impress