19 Reviews

Really delicious! My husband said these were the best green beans he'd ever eaten since they tasted nothing like green beans. Ha! I mistakenly stirred the Parmesan into the sauce with the Swiss but it was so good I'd do the same next time. Probably used more like 4 cups whole green beans. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama February 10, 2013

What a lovely change from traditional green bean casseroles. Loved the fact that it had a homemade cheese sauce and we really liked the topping as well. Now I will have a great alternative for my meals. This really hit the spot with your Lip Smacking Beef Short Ribs. All I can say is YUM! Made for Fall PAC, October, 2012.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DailyInspiration October 12, 2012

DH wanted to give these green beans more then a five star review, he loved them. I used canned cut green beans, an italian blend shredded cheese that contained parmesan and packaged real bacon bits. I think this will be the go to green bean casserole now for us! Made and reviewed for ZWT 8 - 2012 The Fearless Red Dragons.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 September 05, 2012

This was a huge hit at my house last night! My MS went back for seconds. I have never seen him go back for vegetables before. Thank you BK for a delicious recipe. Made for ZWT8.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn July 25, 2012

Definitely a cut above the usual green bean casserole (which I really didn't care for all that much!). This will certainly have a place on the dinner table frequently. Thnx for sharing, bk. Made for French Country Kitchen Herb of the Month - Paprika.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter March 18, 2010

These are really good green beans!! I forgot the bacon; how could I do that!! However DH said I can replace his green bean casserole (I don't like) for the holidays with this as long as I add the bacon and maybe some fried onions. Made for Photo Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH February 28, 2010

Excellent green beans!!! I love the traditional green bean casserole, but none of my family like the creamy based dish, so I made this to serve 1 for a lunch side. I used a really small can of french style green beans (approximately 1/3 of the amounts listed) and followed as written. I like the no can of cream soup and the added flavor the bacon and cheese add to the dish. Thanks for sharing the recipe BK!! Made for WTTM Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 February 11, 2010

Quite different and unique, a very different way to prepare green beans, would be good at Thanksgiving time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser August 13, 2009

This is a very rich and delicious way to make a green bean casserole without using cream of something soup and fried onion rings! This would be a great recipe for a holiday meal, when you weren't worried about calories or fat content! Thanks for posting this yummy recipe. Made for Holiday Tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom May 03, 2009

A different way to do one of our favourite vegetables, I'll be making this again, soon and often! I should have cooked the beans a little more, but that was just me. A wonderful blend of flavours, this qualifies as comfort food, I would happily have this as a main with some steamed rice, and yes, wonderful dish for entertaining, I shall be sure to put this on the menu next time I have guests! Thank you BK, this was a great find for me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth March 16, 2009
Green Beans Au Gratin