Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    85 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 85

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2002

      This recipe takes little ingredients and is so simple to prepare. It tastes great and makes an awesome side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2002

      Very delicious way to cook green beans! I realized mid-reicpe that my last head of garlic wasn't looking so good, so had to substitute garlic powder. It turned out great! Next time I will try real garlic but this worked just fine as well. Not a bean left in the pot by the time dinner was over - and there were only 2 of us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2002

      My husband LOVED it!! He said that it reminded him of his Grandma's recipe!! Thanks so much for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2002

      I'm not a veggie person, however these beans are very good and easy to throw togeather. All who tried them in our house liked them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2002

      I made these green beans for Thanksgiving and everyone enjoyed them. Very simple to make and very tasty. Thanks for the recipe, Erin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2002

      These beans are incredibly good! Cooked them for Thanksgiving(Canadian) with sesame carots, mashed potatoes and chicken with sage and onion stuffing(small crowd). They were awesome - a really different savoury flavour, with the beans really taking on the flavour of the garlic and onion. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2002

      Very delicious! We have the at least once a week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2002

      This recipe was easy and it was also a change from the usual.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2004

      Very easy tasty beans - I only boiled them for 3 minutes and cooked them in the chicken stock for 8 minutes - I like them crunchy. It is amazing how a couple of ingredients can enhance the flavor of the beans. Thanks Miss Erin for a lovely veggie recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      Very delicious way to cook green beans. The chicken stock and garlic add so much to the flavor. I also like the easy preparation. Thanks Miss Erin.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2004

      They are so delicious and easy to make. I eliminated the butter and did 2 tbs of olive oil rather than 1/4 cup. I reccomend trying this substitute because I still found that it was a bit too much oil for my taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2003

      Excellent savory flavor. I omitted the butter for dietary reasons, and didn't miss it. The only thing I will do different next time, is to boil them for half the time indicated, to keep some of the tendercrisp texture that I like in fresh green beans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2003

      Simple to make and so delicious. As a variation, I added slices of chicken. Instead of the broth I used 1/2 cup water with one buillion cube.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2003

      Oh man, these were really good. I normally prefer can green beans instead of fresh because I don't like the taste of fresh green beans. This recipe has changed that! I made this along with some pork chops (Baked Pork Chops)and it was good. I will be making these again...thanks for getting me to eat my vegetables!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      Good green beans. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      These green beans were scrum. Everyone inhaled them. The flavors melded well and the result were tasty beans. Great for a holiday supper but everyday as well I suspect. Easy and enjoyable. Thanks for posting Miss Erin. Enjoy! ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      Great recipe and so simple!!!! I made the green beans for Thanksgiving and used beef stock since I did not have chicken stock and it came out very tasty and I got compliments on it from non-vegetable lovers. I also added almond slivers once the green beans were done as a garnish. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      Really good! I doubled the green beans, onions, and garlic but kept the other ingredients the same. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      Ditto all other reviews - this was so easy to make and tasted great. Don't change a thing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      Wow - I didn't realize I was supposed to add all that butter and oil until I had already made the recipe. I just sauted the onions (and some mushrooms which were a great addition) in a little bit of butter (maybe 1 T) and I didn't miss the oil or the remaining butter at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 291.9
     
    Calories from Fat 235
    80%
    Total Fat 26.1 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 32.7 mg
    10%
    Sodium 216.6 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites