9 Reviews

I cooked the beans in the grease(no water added) as another reviewer had done,Mistake....The beans were too greasy tasting...Also I used a bacon with too much maple flavoring which really didnt do anything for the beans..I am not rating this recipe,just telling you all what not to do....

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck December 12, 2007

Really good side dish. I pre-cooked the bacon drained it, crumbled it and then added it to the onion, just to get rid of some of the fat. Added a little water so the beans could steam a little. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview October 30, 2012

Whenever onion and bacon are being combined, I'm in. This was no exception and I'm glad I found this recipe because it was really great. I couldn't stop picking on it while waiting for the rest of the meal to finish. This would be a perfect holiday meal side dish. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp October 29, 2012

Really yummy! DH gobbled them up. I only used about 12 oz. of water, and it was more than enough. Of course, DH liked sopping up the 'juice' with bread, so that was okay.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chakrates December 13, 2010

Awesome recipe!!! Great flavor, great texture, great everything! And so easy :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piranhabriana October 26, 2006

Great recipe! I didn't add water, but just cooked on low in the bacon grease forabout 30 minutes. I also added sliced almonds and used seasoned salt instead of regular table salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlueState82 August 07, 2006

Made as written. This was very tasty. I will definitely make this again. ~Nay

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Huluhae October 22, 2005

This is a great recipe... that is the way Mike makes it all the time and let me tell you when he does there is never any left..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike & Sara October 20, 2005

What a flavorful way to make green beans. The bacon and onions made the fresh beans just delicious! Thanks for a gret recipe rickscott

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut July 18, 2005
Green Beans