11 Reviews

Tried with Thanksgiving dinner for the 1st time and it was way better than the old standby green bean casserole I grew up with. The swiss cheese and sour cream sauce was very tasty. My only misgiving is I used frozen green beans and it was a little hard to deal with trying to mix them all and get it into the baking dish. But I added on a about 7-8 additional minutes and they turned out just fine. I also used ritz crackers based on a couple other reviewer comments only because I have no other use for cornflakes; but they tasted great as a topping.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OCMom1 November 25, 2011

After many years of the old standby casserole I found this a couple of years ago. Now, it is the most requested side dish for holiday dinners.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mj4268 November 25, 2010

Delicious! I had never tried a combination of green beans with cheese. The combo is very tasty!!! I sauted 1/2 onion and used buttered Ritz cracker crumbs on top since I did not have cornflakes. I may try mozzeralla cheese next time. My DH loved this dish better than the mushroom soup type. Thanks for sharing this recipe and now I have a different flavored green bean casserole to use for future meals. Prepared as a participant in the Cool Beans Event March 2010 of the Cooking Photo Forum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasoned Cook March 15, 2010

We love this recipe. My husband's Aunt use to make it for years during the Holidays. I think she said it came from the Corn Flake box. I always make it for Christmas dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meowchi February 21, 2010

This makes a great variation to my normal greenbean casserole that DS's love. I really like the idea of incorporating cornflakes for the topping. I did sprinkle a bit of garlic salt to season them and then broiled for two minutes to crisp em up. I ended up using cheddar cheese instead of swiss as that's what I had on hand. The swiss would add a lovely tartness I'm sure. I omitted the onions per families request. Thanks for a sure keeper!~ Made for Spring's PAC 09~

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB March 29, 2009

I used fresh beans, which I blanched in advance, and scaled this down for 2 of us, but next time I'll make the full amount, we loved this and it would have been nice to have leftovers! I didnt make it for anything special, just as a side-dish, but so good, with one of my favourite vegetables, I'll be making this again (and again :) ). Especially loved the use of buttery crackers as a topping, and the rich sauce. Thank you, much enjoyed and made for Sweet December 2014 tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth December 11, 2014

Great switch for the standard green bean casserole. I made 1/6 of the recipe, using a small can of French Style green beans, light sour cream and then opted to used the crushed butter flavored crackers and onions. Thanks for sharing a new green bean recipe. Made for Stars Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 January 17, 2013

Good dinner for me tonight. Thanks! Made for PAC spring 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 April 11, 2012

Have made this many times except I use part of the melted butter (about 2 teaspoons) to mix in with cornflake crumbs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quail2 August 13, 2011

I loved this casserole! The reason I am giving it four stars is that I bought the french-style green beans by mistake. I used a combination of the french style and some frozen regular green beans. Next time, I will make sure to have the regular canned beans. This was a side to beef patties and gravy. Thank you for a great recipe, and it will be made again. Made for Photo Swap 8! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VickyJ February 20, 2010
Green Bean Casserole W/Swiss Cheese