Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Bean Casserole - No Canned Onions or Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Bean Casserole - No Canned Onions or Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2012

      This makes such a nice alternative to the creamed soup recipe. Combining the cheese and breadcrumbs produced a beautiful crust. The sherry was replaced with white grape juice and Greek yogurt was used in place of sour cream. The green beans were fresh that were split and then blanched prior to combining with the other ingredients. This makes a great make ahead dish. It was assembled in the morning and then placed in the oven about 20 minutes before Ww 5 Points - Kfc Tender Roast Chicken was done. Made for Cleaning Up In the Diabetic Forum event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      Wonderful! It smelled delicious while cooking and tasted better. Made it for 2010 Thanksgiving. Only omitted the sherry and it turned out just fine! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      This was delicious! Next time I make it, I will not include the lemon peel, it was just too much and didn't work with the other ingredients. I used fresh green beans and had no idea how much I had, so I cut the recipe in half. Seemed like the perfect sauce to green bean ratio. I used cooking sherry (made BF go and get some) and the flavor was great, I couldn't imagine not using it. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      This was an excellent replacement for the canned casserole my mother has always served at Thanksgiving. I used fresh beans and definitely should have boiled them a minute longer, but the flavor was wonderful. I used a chardonnay in place of cooking sherry and attempted to zest the lemon with a serrated steak knife instead of using the whole peel.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      Very good! I thought I had seen every recipe there was for green bean casserole. this was fantastic. I served this as a side to our steak. I made as directed except I used fresh green beans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      What an elegant version of green bean casserole! Delicious! Like another reviewer, I used Panko bread crumbs, their delicate consistency paired well with this refined recipe. This is almost green beans stroganoff! Thanks, ApplyDapply! Made for 123 HW.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      I made this for dinner tonight. It was pretty good. It had a little more lemon and sour cream flavor than we would like, but it would be god for people who like that big of tanginess. I used Panko bread crumbs for the topping.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      I made this to go along with a chicken dish and loved the flavors and the crunchy bread crumbs. My family doesn't like the standard green bean casserole, so thought I would try this one for just me and my 20 yo DD last night. She still wouldn't try it, stating she only likes it with butter and seasoning, but 5 stars because I sure enjoyed them. Made for 123 tag, thanks for sharing!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I really enjoyed this.. I'm not much of a fan of the generic green bean casserole. I made sure to use fresh lemon peel.. with my new zester gadget that is too cool. Also used ground corn flakes in lieu of breadcrumbs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      A really great tasting side dish! I love that it doesn't have the canned onions or the canned soup. This is delicious! I made it exactly as stated and it was perfect. I agree the cooking sherry is a great addition!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      I can't give a star rating for now cause since I didn't have cooking sherry, I used red wine. It was a big mistake. I should have taken the time to come at the computer to see what was a good substitution. Or I should have just omit it. Besides that, I think it would have been a great dish. Thanks Appleydapply.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Bean Casserole - No Canned Onions or Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (147 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 187.8
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    54%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 30.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 291.3 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites