12 Reviews

This makes such a nice alternative to the creamed soup recipe. Combining the cheese and breadcrumbs produced a beautiful crust. The sherry was replaced with white grape juice and Greek yogurt was used in place of sour cream. The green beans were fresh that were split and then blanched prior to combining with the other ingredients. This makes a great make ahead dish. It was assembled in the morning and then placed in the oven about 20 minutes before Ww 5 Points - Kfc Tender Roast Chicken was done. Made for Cleaning Up In the Diabetic Forum event.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG March 11, 2012

Wonderful! It smelled delicious while cooking and tasted better. Made it for 2010 Thanksgiving. Only omitted the sherry and it turned out just fine! Thanks so much for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill Koelzer Kopek #1 November 25, 2010

This was delicious! Next time I make it, I will not include the lemon peel, it was just too much and didn't work with the other ingredients. I used fresh green beans and had no idea how much I had, so I cut the recipe in half. Seemed like the perfect sauce to green bean ratio. I used cooking sherry (made BF go and get some) and the flavor was great, I couldn't imagine not using it. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEATHER H. June 24, 2010

This was an excellent replacement for the canned casserole my mother has always served at Thanksgiving. I used fresh beans and definitely should have boiled them a minute longer, but the flavor was wonderful. I used a chardonnay in place of cooking sherry and attempted to zest the lemon with a serrated steak knife instead of using the whole peel.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucifugous November 27, 2009

Very good! I thought I had seen every recipe there was for green bean casserole. this was fantastic. I served this as a side to our steak. I made as directed except I used fresh green beans.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seesko November 13, 2009

What an elegant version of green bean casserole! Delicious! Like another reviewer, I used Panko bread crumbs, their delicate consistency paired well with this refined recipe. This is almost green beans stroganoff! Thanks, ApplyDapply! Made for 123 HW.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees November 03, 2008

I made this for dinner tonight. It was pretty good. It had a little more lemon and sour cream flavor than we would like, but it would be god for people who like that big of tanginess. I used Panko bread crumbs for the topping.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scarlett516 November 02, 2008

I made this to go along with a chicken dish and loved the flavors and the crunchy bread crumbs. My family doesn't like the standard green bean casserole, so thought I would try this one for just me and my 20 yo DD last night. She still wouldn't try it, stating she only likes it with butter and seasoning, but 5 stars because I sure enjoyed them. Made for 123 tag, thanks for sharing!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 October 14, 2008

I really enjoyed this.. I'm not much of a fan of the generic green bean casserole. I made sure to use fresh lemon peel.. with my new zester gadget that is too cool. Also used ground corn flakes in lieu of breadcrumbs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
'nora January 23, 2008

A really great tasting side dish! I love that it doesn't have the canned onions or the canned soup. This is delicious! I made it exactly as stated and it was perfect. I agree the cooking sherry is a great addition!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 May 06, 2007
Green Bean Casserole - No Canned Onions or Soup