Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Bean Casserole from Cooks Illustrated Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Bean Casserole from Cooks Illustrated

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2010

      Really awesome green bean casserole, however, extremely time consuming. If I was to ever make it again I would only slice the mushrooms to save time. If you have to only bring one dish this is a winner. I just had so many other things to make that were more important to do this one again along with the rest of T-day meal.

      Update: I swore I wouldn't make this again this year. I was begged to do it again so here is what I did to help out with time. I made it the weekend before Thanksgiving minus the topping and wrapped it in saran wrap & foil and froze it. I also made the topping Thanksgiving eve. On T Day I just left the casserole on the counter to thaw it out and added the topping to cook. It turned out just as good and saved hours of valuable time during a busy day. Now with a baby on the way I swear it won't be making it again next year. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2014

      Though there is a bit of prep to this recipe, it is well worth it. I grew up with my mother cooking canned green beans and canned soup dumped in a bowl, mixed, salt and peppered, topped with dried onions and baked. Although it was good at the time, and is still a staple in a great number of homes, I wanted something with a little more effort. It must be said, however, the fat content is greatly increased with use of butter and cream, but if made for special occasions, well...<br/><br/>Snipping fresh green beans gives one time to reflect, and there are plenty of other things to do while cooking them. If you have the right tools and bowls, the ice bath is not that big of a deal. <br/><br/>Take the time to make this recipe with fresh green beans, and you will likely never go back to the canned process.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      This was great! Everyone asked to take home the leftovers from Easter dinner. I don't like mushrooms so I just made 3 lbs of green beans. I think next time I will also add a little parmesan to the topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      this is the 3rd or 4th Thanksgiving my sister has made this, it is super yummy, but quite time consuming compared to a canned bean casserole (or as she calls it, blasphemy). I get to just sit and read the instructions (which i am doing now) while she does the work. Everyone loves it, and we make double batches so there are left overs. tastes sinful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      This recipe tastes fantastic! I made it one year for Thanksgiving and it's now required that I bring it every year. :o) It is time consuming, because you basically are making everything you dump out of a can - cooked beans, cream of mushroom soup... But once or twice a year it's worth it. It's the Rolls Royce of Green Bean Casseroles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      This was SO good, hit my pregnancy craving on the spot! Instead of blanching the green beans, I put them in my electric steamer for a few minutes... and I think I would even skip that to save time, not sure what difference it makes since they cooked plenty in the oven. I happened to have mushroom base in the fridge so I didn't use chicken, and I didn't have cream, so I used milk and just took a bit longer to thicken the sauce. I didn't mind saving the calories! I used whole wheat bread for the topping and it was delicious, but I had too much of it, I think my whole wheat slices were on the big side. My toddlers are still gobbling it up! I will definitely make this for Thanksgiving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      My daughter in law first served this at a family holiday dinner. It's so good...REALLY good! I've made this several times and I'll never make any other recipe for this dish. There's no way the canned version will ever be on my table again. Try this, you'll surely love it. Thanks for posting this, now I know exactly where it is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      This is by far the best green bean casserole I have ever tasted. I will never make another as long as I live.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      I have made this every Thanksgiving since it was published in Cook's Illustrated. It is far above the "canned" version of green bean casserole and well worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Bean Casserole from Cooks Illustrated

    Serving Size: 1 (189 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 252.7
     
    Calories from Fat 179
    70%
    Total Fat 19.8 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 12.0 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 64.1 mg
    21%
    Sodium 142.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fried onions

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes