Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Bean Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Bean Casserole

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2005

      A classic. My mom always added a 5oz. can of water chestnuts (drained) and a generous sprinkling of dried oregano. I used the roasted garlic mushroom soup last time and that was very good in it. It's definitely worth springing for Campbell's soup, I think; get it on sale during Thanksgiving week and stock up! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2005

      Thanx, mandabears, for posting this classic holiday recipe. Your tips regarding frozen green bean substitutions are helpful. I like to use @ 4 cups frozen haricot verts (French Green Beans- buy at Trader Joe's) and dress mine up with the addition of chopped fresh parsley, minced fresh lemon zest, and a squeeze of fresh lemon juice before baking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      Very good! Although I've never been a fan of the usual green bean casserole recipe,but this one is better because of the frozen green beans. Tastes fresher with frozen than the canned, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2013

      Love it every time. That dash of soy sauce does it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      Awesome and EASY! Thanks a lot for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      This is a classic recipe. Sometimes I add some shredded Cheddar cheese and mushroms before adding the fried onions on top. My family enjoy it both ways

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      The sauce was good, but the consistency of the green beans was weird -- neither crunchy nor soft and kind of chemical tasting. I'll probably use the sauce recipe again, but sub out canned beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I made the for our Christmas dinner with DH's family. I doubled the batch and let cook for 15 extra minutes. So good, we all enjoyed this very much. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      . I am always misplacing this recipe too so I am glad you put it in a safe place. I love this and is perfect for the holiday season. Thanks for sharing Mandabears!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      This is the recipe I like for green bean casserole. Frozen green beans are much better than canned. I've tried subbing Worcestershire sauce for the soy sauce a couple times, but soy is just as good. I have to double this for the Thanksgiving crowd if we want leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Thanks for posting this on Zaar, I always misplace the recipe too. I have people begging for it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      I got hooked on this dish while working the graveyard shift years ago. I use to buy it frozen when Stouffers made it. Then couldn't find it in any grocery stores after a few years. I love this recipe. I recently rediscovered it on a can of French's fried onions and made it for my boyfriend who hates mushroom soup and he loved it....have made it once every couple of weeks now. It goes great with chicken and pork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Got this recipe off the Campbell's website to make for my boyfriend and was making sure it was posted. I am rating based on him and his friend, who absolutely love this casserole, as I personally do not care for it. I used 2 cans of french-style green beans. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      This is one of the classic Thanksgiving dishes that I am asked to bring every year. Trouble is, it never gets eaten (not that I am a bad cook. I just haven't found THE GB Casserole) WELL, I think this one it is. I used evaporated milk instead of reg. milk... everything is good with evap. milk (and bacon, but that is another story). Great taste and easy to make. And since it isn't a very large amount, no leftovers due to massive amounts! Thanks for the recipe! Jennifer

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      This is an excellent recipe. We make it quite often with our meals. We do use 2 cans of green beans, rather than the frozen ones. Just our preference. 5 stars for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

    • on November 16, 2006

      I've been making this recipe for years! It doesn't have to be made just for the holidays, sometimes I make it as a side dish during the week because it's simple, quick to toss together and everyone loves it. I think the addition of soy sauce really adds to the flavor of this. It's the only way I make this! The only thing I do different is use canned beans instead of frozen and reduce milk to 1/3 cup, but only because I use less beans than this recipe calls for (Because I use canned). Everything else is the same. Thank you for sharing this. If I misplace my copy of this, I too, will alway's know where to find it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      I substituted golden mushroom soup for the cream of mushroom soup, just for a change, & omitted the soy sauce. I used canned french cut green beans this time but, of course, frozen would be fine too. I've made this before but it was a definite success at Thanksgiving this year, probably because of the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2004

      Yep, this is a winner. Mine doesn't have the soy sauce, but i'll try adding that the next time. It's sure not gourmet, but more important, it's yummy for the tummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Bean Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (147 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 78.0
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    44%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 2.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 423.1 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    French-fried onions

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites