Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Green Bean Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Bean Casserole

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2002

      I made this casserole for Christmas dinner. A favorite of all my family's. Rich and cheesy with the wonderful crunchy onion topping. Very easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      This casserole was fantastic! I've made several green been casseroles in my day, but not one did I ever like until I tried this recipe! I used 2 cans (14 and 1/2 ounces each) Del Monte French Style Green Beans, drained for 30 minutes upside down (along with the lid to hold the beans within the can-do not cook the beans). I mixed 4 tablespoons of milk with the can of soup, which made for easier spreading when it was time to be placed on top of the green beans (do not add any other liquid to the soup, other than the 4 tablespoons of milk. After baking the beans there will be a very small amount of milk liquid at the bottom of the casserole dish, which needs to be removed after you serve the first portion to a family member. I divided the drained water chestnuts into 4 equal portions, then cut each portion into quarters. This was an awesome recipe, thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2014

      I liked this much more than the usual canned green bean casserole, but it still isn't a big favorite of mine. I like that it wasn't overly soupy and soggy; plus, the cheese was nice. I used both the French fried onion and the almonds on top and I was pleased with that. All in all, it is pretty good. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      Although this tastes ok, I do not understand mixing up as bunch of processed canned and frozen foods and serving them to company. Can't anyone make fresh food for a special occasion. anymore? I would be insulted if served this stuff at a dinner party or festive occasion. It is more like stuff you feed to family when no time to cook just to fill their bellies. How did this become company food.? The Campbell's company have us brainwashed still to think mushroom soup made of flour and water paste is food.. I guess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      This was real comfort food for us. I did make some changes. I'm trying to clean out my pantry so I used canned green beans and also added a can of corn. I used about a half cup of cheese, and about a quarter can of onions. I also seasoned with dried basil, red pepper flakes, and black pepper. So, so good. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      This was absolutely FABULOUS!!! Such a different twist on the old green bean casserole (which I find very boring)...I loved the cheese and the crunch of the water chestnuts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      This is the BEST! I love the crunchiness that the water chestnuts add! I make it every year for Thanksgiving. Everyone requests it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      This is a very good casserole. I made this tonight for our dinner and we enjoyed this very much. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      I made this for Thanksgiving, it was very well received. This is the first time for all of us to have green bean casserole. We all loved it. This will be a regular at holiday meals, thanks so much for posting Graybert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      What a hit this was, the cheese and water chestnuts were wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      Very good. Hubby loved the addition of the water chestnuts for the unexpected crunch and I loved the cheese. Made it up the night before so all I had to do was pop it in the oven on Thanksgiving. Next time I will add a french fried onion layer in the middle too! Thanks Graybert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      I tried a green bean casserole in the past and I did not like it, but this one was excellent. I wouln't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      Addictive!I feel like I was deprived as a child... I have seen this recipe on commercials and food labels, but I never had it before! I thought I would try it for a dinner party last night. I used fresh bean, cut into bite-sized pieces and boiled them for about 3 minutes first. I followed all the directions as written, using the onion rings as a topper. Everyone loved them and this will be made again... often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2005

      This is a great recipe for green beans (not our families favorite veggie). No leftovers of this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      This was awesome! I usually pass up green bean casserole, but this was an easy recipe to add to menu for Easter. It turned out so delicious, turns out I didn't make enough! Quick and very easy recipe. I used canned G. beans (3)instead of frozen and it still turned out. Thank you so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2004

      This casserole was delicious. I had to be a bit inventive with it as I can't get french fried onions over here and I didn't have any almonds on hand. I sprinkled a bit of dry onion soup mix in between the layers and I had some leftover roguefort cheese that I crumbled in with the cheddar cheese just for an extra flavour. It turned out wonderful! I would have loved to try it with the fried onions on top but, alas, guess that will have to wait until I am able to get some. Thanks for a fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Bean Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (14 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 56.9
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    73%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 14.8 mg
    4%
    Sodium 87.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    French style green beans

    sliced water chestnuts

    Campbell's half-fat condensed cream of mushroom soup

    French fried onion rings

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites