29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

easy and tasty! I liked the tang of the vinegar, and the slight crustiness of the bread crumbs. I used spinach/chive breadcrumbs from Whole Foods, and Earth Balance for the butter. I also shredded my parmesan cheese. keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allison_marie February 08, 2013

Loved this!! Doubled the recipe, used frozen whole green beans which I steamed for a few minutes, olive oil, and red wine vinegar. Was out of fresh Parmesan so used Peccorino-Romano. Incredibly yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 31, 2010

Excellent! I wish I'd found this recipe at the beginning of the garden fresh bean season. The fresh beans were cooked perfectly. I used olive oil and balsamic vinegar like someone else did. The only change I'd make next time is to cut the amount of topping in half. Only thing that confused me was the serving size - I would rate this more like 2-4 servings than 6-8. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brighid August 26, 2009

Yummy! Made as directed with my garden fresh beans & it was delish. I followed recipe exactly, with an extra splash of vinegar. I used white balamic vinegar in this recipe, it has a nice crisp flavor. Good thing I doubled the recipe cuz between the two of us there was none left!! Loved the flavor so much I may try shrimp this way!Thanks, Colleen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janni402 August 11, 2009

These were by far the best green beans my wife and I have every had! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thomasjj93 s December 08, 2008

A good way to eat string beans, if you ask me! Nice texture, and I recommend Cider Vinegar. Gave us a nice taste!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Green Guisador September 15, 2008

I loved this. I wanted to add something to a pot roast. This was the perfect addition. I doubled the recipe and added 10 minutes to the cooking time. I will make this again. Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nhredhead_65 August 18, 2008

This was interesting, never had anything it. The bread crumb topping was good. I used yellow wax string beans as this, olive oil, cider vinegar. Omitted the onion. Boiled for 20-25mins and baked for another 20mins, as I do not like beans that 'squeak' on my teeth. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMae August 13, 2008

This is one of our favorites. Great way to make green beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingbee November 30, 2007

For Thanksgiving I always served green beans almondine and I wanted something different this year. This worked out quite nicely, thanks! I think the only thing I did differently was to add less oil, and I also minced the garlic instead of crushing it. I forgot the paprika because it wasn't listed in the ingredients, and that's my only complaint about this recipe. Oh, and I used fresh green beans and balsamic vinegar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend November 29, 2007
Green Bean Caesar