21 Reviews

These were excellent. I partially cooked the bacon first, and added a little bit of garlic powder when I seasoned the green beans. My bacon turned out very crisp and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andtototoo! October 19, 2013

Easy and delicious. I did cook the bacon about halfway through before baking them with the green beans and I think that definitely helps crisp them up. Makes for a pretty presentation too! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu December 14, 2012

Very flavorful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thepriest March 18, 2012

The flavors were nice, but I was disappointed that the bacon did not crisp for me either. This may be because I was using turkey bacon, but since that usually gets crisp for me when I cook it I think it just has something to do with cooking time. I will keep experimenting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Casual Gourmet March 29, 2010

These are TERRIFIC, true! And sorry they did not get a good last review! LOVE the simplicity and ease! And this recipe to my guests surely did please! Also served them along with a Dijon vinegarette! Will I make it again? YOU BET! The bacon cut is the key, And how you cook it so it does not come out GREASY! THANKS! ***UPDATE: Made this AGAIN this week for another party, TRUE! The GREAT hint and tip is to precook bacon in the oven on baking baking, roll then finish them off shortly before serving too! WHOO HOO!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder March 27, 2010

These are very good. I am planning to make these for a wedding, so I tried three variations to see which worked best. I tried unblanched with uncooked bacon. That did not turn out well, and I found that blanching is very important!! I tried blanched with uncooked bacon and by the time the bacon was done, the green beans were WAY too done. So, I tried blanched with precooked bacon and it turned out great. I also added a little bit of garlic powder. My taste testers gave rave reviews. Thanks for the posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsfernie May 24, 2009

Made these for Thanksgiving dinner last year and were the only thing NOT gobbled up. They weren't very tasty. I think asparagus would've been a better choice for the bundles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rubi April 20, 2009

The first time we saw Paula Deen make these, my DH requested them and they were a huge hit at our Thanksgiving meal. I have refined the recipe just by pre-cooking the bacon a bit just to cook off some of the grease before wrapping the bundles in the bacon slices. I also use center cut bacon (the 33% less fat kind), I don't like really greasy vegetables and that is what you will get if you use the cheapest bacon out there!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heartnurse2006 November 03, 2008

These are absolutly delicious. Used turkey bacon instead of pork bacon to save on the fat calories. I also did them on the grill as a sidedish to some rosemary/garlic/lemon grilled chicken. Easy and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugarmagnolia_fl May 11, 2008

I haven't cooked these myself yet, but had them at Chrismas at a gathering. They were AWESOME! Can't wait to try to cook them myself!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmills326 April 10, 2008
Green Bean Bundles (Paula Deen)