17 Reviews

This is one of the best dips I have ever had. Seriously! I am a huge fan of guacamole and hummus and this was a perfect blend of both. I used 2 small avocados and the juice of 1 whole small lemon. Absolutely delicious! I am taking this to a Thanksgiving dinner tonight for an appetizer, if I don't decide to keep it for myself! I am serving this with whole wheat tortilla chips. Made for my adopted chef for PAC 2011. Thanks flower7! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif October 08, 2011

Absolutely fabulous! Added a little more lemon to brighten up the flavors. Also a pinch of cumin. Added a handful of fresh spinach together with the other ingredients and it pumped up the green color (and nutrients). The flavor was awesome! Also changed out the sour cream for thick Greek yogurt. (Less fat). Can I give this more than 5 stars?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knitnsoap September 27, 2011

Incredibly good - the best I've ever tasted! Only added a dash more olive oil for a smoother consistency.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 30, 2015

this was great.. we used it as the "sauce" for hummus pizza.. i didn't have tahini or sour cream so i left them out and added some cumin.. it was super tasty.. i'll never buy the premade stuff again.. ty for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
notjamielou February 12, 2015

I used the huge Florida avocado, not the California Haas grenades. It is tasty. However needs more lemon and salt. I will probably also add red pepper flakes to spice it up. Closer to hummus than to guacamole in flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ambervim September 28, 2011

I definitely enjoyed this recipe. I was nervous because I only have a blender and wasn't sure if I should add pepper or salt beforehand. I ended up adding some pepper afterwards and it was delicious. Cannot wait to see family's reaction later tonight! : ) Thanks so much for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wisconsincheddar28 August 10, 2010

What a great idea! I can't get tahini out here so I didn't use any of that. I also followed the advice of other reviewers and added some extra lemon juice, cumin, and cayenne pepper. I dipped baby carrots into this and have to say that was a meal in itself and actually very filling! Great way to sneak veggies in that way. ;) Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ June 25, 2010

Wow, this was really good! I did follow other reviewers and added a whole lemon, and a pinch of cumin/cayenne/salt. I also used half a tablespoon of the oil and added onion powder, since Trader Joe's guacamole hummus has that in it too. I loved all these flavors together. DH thought we could add even more lemon to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito June 07, 2010

This is a really tasty hummus, and it was very well received by 2 yo DS! My tahini was looking a little funky so I skipped that, and I used drained plain yogurt instead of sour cream. Otherwise I made as written. Like other reviewers, I felt the final product needed a bit more zip as the avocado really makes the dip creamy and smooth instead of tangy like many hummus recipes. I added extra lemon juice, garlic powder, lots of salt, and a pinch of cayenne and was more satisfied. Thanks for posting! Made for Went to Market Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian May 11, 2010

This was really good. I didn't have any tahini, so I didn't use any and I used a whole lemon. TIP: to get the juice out of a lemon easier, stick it in the microwave for about 20 seconds first.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bcdevany March 05, 2009
Green Avocado Hummus