10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was totally awesome and with ingredients I always have on hand. When I was starting to make the dressing, I saw 2 T Dijon mustard and thought that's just way too much. Well, it's not at all. That amount of Dijon really balances out the soy taste really well. Two ingredients are must in this recipe and they are blue cheese and apples. What a great combination of flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rinshinomori February 22, 2012

What a delicious, yet simple salad! The soy sauce in the dressing gives it a unique flavor. I used a Gala apple, but made no other changes. Thanx for sharing your aunt's recipe; I love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* January 16, 2010

Great Salad! Made the dressing as directed with a heaping Tbsp of honey. Substituted spring greens, feta cheese and candied walnuts. Added 1/2 c of dried cranberries. Wonderful!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kieryc December 23, 2009

OH, is this delish!!! In my haste to take a pix before the lighting was gone...forgot to add the blue cheese crumbles. (Smacks forehead). It will be made again, cus the dressing , crisp apple and spinach flavors---wonderful!! Made for the Apple a Day event in Cooking Photos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks October 10, 2009

A favorite salad! The entire family devours it. I usually make it exactly to directions, but tonight had to use feta because I was out of the blue. It was still fantastic! And oh so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeanieK May 01, 2009

Very tasty apple and blue cheese salad! Made exactly as stated. I like the addition of spinach in this version, and the dressing was excellent! Thanks Liza!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz October 11, 2008

I agree with the other reviewers, the dressing is wonderful and so easy. I did make a couple of substitutions on the salad ingredients; i.e., tart red apple and for the cheese feta was used. The dressing ingredients were added to jar and after shaking a few minutes was ready to go. I plan on making this again very soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG October 09, 2008

I made this yesterday for a group of camping people. I found it excellent. The dressing really makes the dish. I subsituted cheddar cheese, as I don't like blue. As we sat down to eat, 4 people asked for the recipe, that is how good it was. A keeper for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carbcrazy October 06, 2008

Loved this salad, especially the dressing. I did add a little bite more honey to mine. I cut this down for the two of us, but used all the ingredients listed except used a spring mix of greens instead of spinach, since that was what I had. Very nice. Thanks. Made for your Cookathon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ October 05, 2008

A great salad that I really enjoyed! I scaled the recipe down for 1 person. I loved the dressing and all the flavors! Thanks for all you do Liza! Made for your Cookathon! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 October 02, 2008
Green Apple Spinach Salad