13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Best Salsa Ever!! I made this to bring to work and I could not keep enough copies of the recipes!! Everyone was asking for it!! Even the VP!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamalady April 27, 2010

I made this for a St. Patrick's Day get-together and brought a bag of tortilla chips. The salsa got great reviews from all! It tastes very fresh, with a nice mix of tang and sweetness wrapped up in a satisfying crunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BB2011 April 18, 2013

I used an Anaheim pepper as I didn't have a Poblano available, and I used red onion instead of white onion. Otherwise, I followed this exactly, and it certainly didn't disappoint. Really refreshing, fresh flavor which goes amazingly well with pretty much anything on hand. Good garnish as well as a good standalone dip. Heck, I could eat this like a salad. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyPixel August 13, 2012

A neighbor gave us green apples from his tree. I made this with about 3 or 4 small apples. I used jalapeno instead and I juiced a couple of the apples to make the salsa a bit more moist. It is fantastic. The right amount of sweet and spice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ctlaws July 21, 2012

This is AMAZING. It smelled really onion-y, so I was a bit leary about how it would actually taste... but WOW. So fresh, so delicious - serves 5-12? HA! I can finish this all in one sitting. Thank you for such a tasty recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tobey_day May 14, 2009

Big hit when paired with Cinnamon Pork Tenderloin http://www.recipezaar.com/cinnamon-roasted-pork-tenderloin-362494 . I substituted a jalapeno for the poblano, which added just enough heat. I was concerned about the cilantro adding too much conflicting flavor, so I used parsley instead, as well as a half teaspoon of cinnamon and a quarter teaspoon of cumin. Very yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Los Altos Larry March 23, 2009

Besides myself enjoying this salsa,I have made it for 2 seperate cook outs this year and it was a hit both times.This is a keeper.For the onion I use 1/4 to 1/3 of a Vidalia depending on how big the onion was.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stellastar June 03, 2008

Oh yum. I made this a couple of days ago to go with the grilled smoked pork chops last nite. I wanted to give the flavors a chance to meld. I'm a champion canner at several state fairs and am always on the lookout for new things to can. I also cannot, for the life of me, stop messing with recipes. I guess I always think I can make them better or more well suited to my use. I made this recipe and after tasting I did add 1 teaspoon of sugar. Oh and I'm not a fan of cilantro at all so I chopped up some fresh oregano and added that to the recipe. And I love red onions so I subbed one for the white onion. This is a good recipe and one you can add too if you like to make it more interesting to your families tastebuds. I like crisp apples and only they will do well in this recipe. Don't sub any other variety for the Granny's or you will end up with a soggy salsa. I'm thinking this would also be yummy on my ham sandwiches or as a good garnish for game dishes such as duck. With the addition of some chopped cranberries, rice wine vinegar, and raisins it could be the base for a new chutney. There I go again! Yum. Try it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plantfreek April 04, 2008

MMMMMMMMM!! Love it! Sweet and spicy are so awesome together! My only change to the recipe was to use half an onion since the one I had was rather large. I had a bit of juice in the bottom of our bowl after mixing it all together, so I drained it off. DH loved it, too. This is definitely getting made for St. Patty's Day this year. Thanks for sharing this easy, healthy and tasty recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hepcat1 January 13, 2008

Oh I have to agree this is the World's Greates Green Apple Salsa! I can't wait to take it to the potluck at work tomorrow, I'm sure it will be a hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cathylovesitaly2 April 29, 2007
Green Apple Salsa - the World's Greatest - by Far