Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Greek Tempeh Pitas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Tempeh Pitas

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2011

      This was actually pretty good. Now that I've fixed it once I'll know a little better on how to fix it next time. I would definitely allow time to let both the tempeh and the vegetable mixture marinate. I would also add some fresh chopped cilantro as a garnish to top the dish off after being completed. Unlike what the recipe says in regards to slicing the tempeh, I crumbled mine up, for me this is easier to mix in the other ingredients (they all mesh better that way) and also easier to cook/fry and spoon/scoop out of the pan and into or onto a pita. I didn't know what tzatziki was and my local organic grocery store didn't either, so I picked up some Cucumber & Shallot vinaigrette and that seemed to work just fine. What was a really special treat was gently warming both the tempeh mixture and the vegetable mixture (separately or together) a day later as leftovers over a warm pita and it was 10 times more delicious than the day of cooking, letting the flavors gel and marinate really make a difference with this recipe. Also, this is a great recipe to make ahead of time and just scoop/spoon as you need for a day or two (or three) for a quick and delicious meal for lunch or on the run! (and healthy I might add)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      This was my first attempt at cooking with tempeh and I liked the idea of the gyros. I made as stated but instead of the balsamic and oil used home made Greek salad dressing. I toasted my pitas in the toaster oven and next time will use the pan method as I thought they were too crunchy. These were excellent and filling, I'll make them again for sure. Thanks for posting, erinn in tbay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      My first-ever attempt to prepare tempeh and it was just great. The marinating is the key, and broiling until crisp. I didn't have plain yogurt and I didn't want onion, so mine was more like a TLT in a pita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      This is one of the best ways I've had tempeh. It really took advantage of its flavor and texture. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      i actually thought i had commented on this before, but i guess not. my wife and I love this dish. it is so easy to make and so tasty. i had a friend who hates vegetarian dishes over for dinner and he had three of them. so glad i made a double batch. so much for leftovers. i do agree with the others that it would have been nice to have amounts of olive oil and soy, but i just eyeball it and i have also found that i like it best when i allow it to marinate over night when i have time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      UGH! This was my first time cooking with tempeh and I very much doubt I will ever buy it again. Would be nice to know how much soy and olive oil, too. I made my own tzatziki and it was the only saving grace.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      FAN-TAS-TIC!!! We just had this as brunch and we totally loved it!!, is certainly a keeper and well, i didn't make tzatziki but a yogurt dressing and i didn't have oregano so i marinated with thyme... this is the second time in my life that i make something with tempeh so i just don't know how to cook it until crisp, but the flavors were amazing! Thanks a lot for the wonderful recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      T

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      This was pretty good. I got it extra crispy and the meat eaters in my family liked it a lot. I made a vegan tzatziki to go with it, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Tempeh Pitas

    Serving Size: 1 (186 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.8
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    40%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 10.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites