Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Greek Style Orzo Salad With Balsamic Vinaigrette Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Style Orzo Salad With Balsamic Vinaigrette

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2010

      This is an outstanding salad, my entire family loves it. After trying it as written several times, and after reading several of the other reviews, I backed off the balsamic to 2T and the dijon to 1T and find the flavors blend perfectly for us. Balsamic vinegar can be a little overwhelming, and I find dijon mustard can be too salty unless used in moderation. The orzo has a nice texture too, never had it before. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      Excellent salad! My husband loved it (which surprised me) as well as our guests. The first time I made this, I cut the mustard in half, based on other reviews but left everything else the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      SO GOOD! This was a great salad. I didn't have any garbanzo's, but I added some seedless cucumber once the rest of the salad was room temperature, with the juice of 1/2 of a lemon. The dressing is great, too. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This was very good. Something different than my usual orzo and feta. I left out the garbanzo beans this time also. Next time I will make sure to put them in. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      I left out the garbanzo beans but otherwise followed the directions. It was a nice dish to go along with some shrimp I was having. We enjoyed it and I will make it again sometime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      Really a great salad. Even more scrumptious the next day. We thought it had a perfect balance of tastes. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      This was okay, it tasted fine, just not a wow factor I was looking for....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      I think this could use more fresh tomatoes and less balsamic. It really is just too sour with the vinegar, mustard and olives. Perhaps I use a high quality of each and so they have a stronger flavor than most? These are all flavors I love individually, and I love orzo! Will make again with adjustments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      I made this this weekend and loved it. I had to use brown rice as I have looked everywhere and can not find orzo. I hated pitting and slicing the Kalamata olives but that is not your fault!! Today I found pitted Kalamata olives and had to buy them for next time. I loved the taste of the dijon with the balsamic vinegar-I would have never thought of it myself but may try it in some other things it is so good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2005

      As a vegetarian, i really enjoyed this recipe warm or cold, and it went over great at a company picnic. I doubled the recipe and made a few minor changes because of ingredients i had on hand. I used halved grape tomatoes, regular black olives and i used half orzo and half instant brown rice. Next time i would either eliminate or cut down on the mustard in the dressing as the mustard flavor seemed overpowering. Also i would start preparing the salad ingredients well before starting the orzo as i didn't notice the 'melting' effect. Orzo cooks quickly and it took a while to cut the tomatoes and prepare the dressing. I would certainly make this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      My Goodness! This is REALLY great. Just finished making this for dinner tonite. I tasted for seasoning before stashing it in the fridge. WOW!, I ate at least four tbls. full before I stopped....and that was my breakfast! If it "calls me" for lunch, I'll just have to make some more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2005

      This dish has such a unique and bold flavor! The tang of the vinegar, salty olives, zip of the dijon, and texture of the chickpeas combine together to offer a taste unlike anything I've ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2005

      Excellent vinaigrette, paired with feta cheese and pasta was outstanding. I drained the pasta well but it was still very moist (the nature of orzo I guess) and it served to mellow out the intense taste of the vinaigrette. I would want to add more tomatoes to this salad next time. Very tasty both warm and cold. Cheese melted as per description. Very quick & easy too. I made with low-fat feta, reduced oil to about 1 tablespoon and had about 3 tablespoons dressing left over. I could see adding all of the dressing to this salad and would certainly recommend using the dressing in recipes that call for a vinaigrette.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2005

      Excellent! A wonderful blending of flavors. Served it at room temeperature on top of salad greens. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2005

      We really enjoyed this recipe. It was exactly as described. Slightly warm, slightly melted feta, making it a bit creamy. The vinaigrette is delicious, and, best of all, we have some left for another salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2005

      This recipe truly is delicious at several temperatures, warm, room-temperature or chilled. The the creamy texture and intense flavor went well with warm pita and grilled chicken. I especially like the simplicity of this recipe; I usually have all of the ingredients on hand. Both DH and my FIL have requested that I make this again and I will certainly do so! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2005

      Made this recipe as directed. It was easy to make and makes a good summer salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2005

      This is flavorful and fantastic. I tried it warm and cold and enjoyed it both ways. I've made RSC recipes in the past that were decent, but I wasn't sure that I'd ever make them again. This one, one other hand, I KNOW I'll make again. The only changes I made were to omit the olives based on personal preference and use soy feta cheese. I didn't use all the dressing at first, but reserved the rest. It's a good thing I did, because after the salad cooled it clumped together a little and I ended up adding a little bit more. Thanks for a refreshing summer salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2005

      I really enjoyed this. The dressing is what tips it over the top. We had it at room temperature. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2005

      Overall, I liked this salad, but felt that the balsamic vinairette was overpowering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Style Orzo Salad With Balsamic Vinaigrette

    Serving Size: 1 (140 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.2
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    42%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 22.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 435.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes