Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Greek Style Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Style Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 22, 2013

      A great new way to have green beans! I loved the tomato mixture and thought the flavors were paired well with green beans. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT9 and the Soup-A-Stars

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2003

      A simply wonderful vegetable dish!! Made the sauce in advance and put it together with the beans near dinner time. Did not add or leave out a thing. One thing I did different was that I added half of the parsley when cooking and the other half just before serving. Thanks Nan!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      Not sure why, but this flopped for me. I followed the recipe exactly except I steamed my green beans instead of boiling them. The flavors in the tomato sauce didn't mix well in my opinion, and the mint kinda competed with the other herbs rather than enhancing them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Served this for Christmas dinner. Perfect colors. ;-) We loved it, fresh taste with the mint and the cooking tip is exactly what others miss. I added a little white wine to the tomatoes and topped it with Feta. Super delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      My BF and I love tomato and green bean combinations, so I've been on a quest for the "perfect" recipe. This is the first recipe I've seen that recommends cooking these vegetables separately before combining. Well it's an excellent idea as the green beans stayed a bright green color. It's a much prettier presentation too. Not sure I'd quite call this the "perfect" recipe yet but it gave me some good ideas. Next time I might change or add more herbs. I couldn't resist adding some kalamata olives too, though olives are not a requirement for my "perfect" recipe:D Thanks for a really great side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      Thanks for a new and different recipe. I loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      Wonderful , flavourful green beans! Loved the mint and oregano, and used the first of both from the herb garden. This definately one we be making again. I had to use Stewed tomatoes , that 's what I had in the cuboard. The worked just fine, thanks for sharing a good one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      Another keeper. Like others, I found the sauce took about 15 minutes to thicken up but the results were well worthwhile. Used fresh mint and Greek oregano cut fresh from the garden. I had sauce leftover (only made half batch of sting beans) and tossed half of a large zucchini thinly sliced. That too was delicious adding versatility to this dish for small households. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      I used canned, drained green beans and I drained the canned tomatoes to make this a little quicker to make. Good stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      Simple and delicious!! The mint gives the sauce a lovely fresh taste. It did take longer than ten minutes to reduce the sauce but it was worth it! Thanks PanNan for a really tasty wide dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      These were very good. I used frozen petite green beans and they turned out very good. I did also add a can of tomato sauce. I received lots of compliments on this side. Thanks Nan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2004

      I'm rating this without stars for now because I had to use canned green beans (blah) that couldn't possibly do justice to the recipe. However the tomato sauce had a nice flavor to it, although it did take closer to 20 min to thicken up. I had real Greek oregano which had such a wonderful flavor that I probably used closer to 1 tsp dried than 1/2 tsp as the recipe stated. ;o) I also crumbled feta over the finished dish for that extra zing. Thanks so much ~ I can't wait to try this with fresh green beans!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Style Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 66.8
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    59%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    29%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes