12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A great new way to have green beans! I loved the tomato mixture and thought the flavors were paired well with green beans. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT9 and the Soup-A-Stars

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood July 22, 2013

A simply wonderful vegetable dish!! Made the sauce in advance and put it together with the beans near dinner time. Did not add or leave out a thing. One thing I did different was that I added half of the parsley when cooking and the other half just before serving. Thanks Nan!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us June 12, 2003

Not sure why, but this flopped for me. I followed the recipe exactly except I steamed my green beans instead of boiling them. The flavors in the tomato sauce didn't mix well in my opinion, and the mint kinda competed with the other herbs rather than enhancing them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina P. November 13, 2010

Served this for Christmas dinner. Perfect colors. ;-) We loved it, fresh taste with the mint and the cooking tip is exactly what others miss. I added a little white wine to the tomatoes and topped it with Feta. Super delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookieKris December 26, 2009

My BF and I love tomato and green bean combinations, so I've been on a quest for the "perfect" recipe. This is the first recipe I've seen that recommends cooking these vegetables separately before combining. Well it's an excellent idea as the green beans stayed a bright green color. It's a much prettier presentation too. Not sure I'd quite call this the "perfect" recipe yet but it gave me some good ideas. Next time I might change or add more herbs. I couldn't resist adding some kalamata olives too, though olives are not a requirement for my "perfect" recipe:D Thanks for a really great side dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend June 12, 2008

Thanks for a new and different recipe. I loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie January 09, 2008

Wonderful , flavourful green beans! Loved the mint and oregano, and used the first of both from the herb garden. This definately one we be making again. I had to use Stewed tomatoes , that 's what I had in the cuboard. The worked just fine, thanks for sharing a good one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf June 25, 2006

Another keeper. Like others, I found the sauce took about 15 minutes to thicken up but the results were well worthwhile. Used fresh mint and Greek oregano cut fresh from the garden. I had sauce leftover (only made half batch of sting beans) and tossed half of a large zucchini thinly sliced. That too was delicious adding versatility to this dish for small households. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni June 06, 2006

I used canned, drained green beans and I drained the canned tomatoes to make this a little quicker to make. Good stuff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Patience November 06, 2005

Simple and delicious!! The mint gives the sauce a lovely fresh taste. It did take longer than ten minutes to reduce the sauce but it was worth it! Thanks PanNan for a really tasty wide dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Nuff October 24, 2005
Greek Style Green Beans