Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Greek Rice - Rice With Spinach and Feta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Rice - Rice With Spinach and Feta

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2012

      This was awesome. I followed the recipe except that I didn't have any dry sherry so I used rice wine. We loved it and it wasn't too salty from the feta; it was just the right amount of salt. I didn't have to add any and I usually DO. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      Delicious and easy recipe. I did make some changes by adding some diced red bell peppers and mozerella cheese (did not have fetta on hand).Also I sauted the vegetables with the rice then added the stock and finished off cooking it in the oven. Next time I will try it with the fetta and maybe some chopped fresh tomato.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      I threw all these ingredients pluse 3/4 cup of water into my rice maker...and bum- DELISH!! I will be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      If I could give you ten stars for this one I would, this is a restaurant quality dish. The flavors marry together so beautifully and the end result was similar to a rissoto in texture. Don't leave out the sherry, just that little bit brightens and enhances all of the other flavors. Thank you Julesong for sharing the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Delicious rice! We loved it and will have it often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      A M A Z I N G! husband loved it, toddler loved it, i really loved it! this is going in regular rotation! i added peas as well as spinach!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Made this last evening and everyone loved it. Prepped all the ingredients ahead of time, started cooking it at the same time as I put the Alaska silver salmon in the oven to bake. 30 minutes later all was done and ready to eat. Since I didn't really have enough spinach, I added a cup or so of frozen peas to fill it out and will probably do that in the future. This one is a keeper, thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      I was the only one in my house who liked this, but I knew that going in because of the ingredients. I loved it and am sad that I won't make it more often (only because I will have to eat it all myself).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      A little labor intensive, but worth it. So glad to see that frozen spinach wasn't called for! This was almost a meal in itself! Would go wonderfully with Beef Souvlaki. Thnx for posting, Julesong!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Adapted this for my new rice cooker. It was delicious. The feta cheese gave it a very special taste. Quick and easy. Great side dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      Great recipe. The rice was delicious. We all loved it! Thanks for posting. This will be a regular with our Greek night meals!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      Terrific rice receipe. With the feta cheese it comes out like a light risotto. I added greek seasoning at the end, which really tied in all the flavor. I agree with prior reviews dont skimp on the spinach- use the whole bag it skrinks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      Loved it! I used brown rice - I think the nutty flavour of the rice complements the dish very well. Also, I substituted 1.5 tbsp white vinegar for lemon juice (ran out) and a dash of lemon pepper seasoning. Definitely agree that it gets better with time. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      This was the best rice I ever did. It was so tasty. I made it in the morning so that the flavor can blend together by dinner. Dont assume that 6 cups of spinach will be too much. I made that mistake and only put half. In the end, I had to put more when I realized that spinaches really shrink a lot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      great dish. All of the flavors were wonderful. I added fresh Italian Parsley right before serving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      Great flavor and dh asked me to make again...always a good sign. I also added a little more lemon juice. Thanks for a keeper

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      Easy, quick & very tasty! I prepped everything in advance, popped the rice into the microwave, and it was ready at the same time as the skillet ingredients. The only change I made was to add a little salt, and to squeeze a bit more lemon over the finished rice. I used red onion, dried oregano & Danish fetta which is quite creamy, has a lovely mild flavour, and isn't overly salty. Will make again! Additional note: As mentioned by Chef #289121, this tastes great the next day. It also makes a hearty rice salad garlic-lovers should enjoy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2006

      This is a very hearty rice dish. Wonderful flavor. I thought that the cheese was overpowering when I first tried it. I would make sure the cheese is crumbled more finely next time. It actually tasted better the next day! All of the flavors had a chance to blend together. I would definitely make this again. Maybe even ahead of time to give the flavors a chance to blend together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2005

      i made this rice for me and my partner a few weeks ago. A total HIT. Tonight the kids were over for my B-Day - yeah, I even do the cooking for such an occasion! It was totally smurffed up - no leftovers, much to my chagrin.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2005

      This is the best rice we have ever had!!!It was so tasty,had it with leg of lamb&greek salad.Thanks,Linda.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Rice - Rice With Spinach and Feta

    Serving Size: 1 (351 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 391.0
     
    Calories from Fat 155
    39%
    Total Fat 17.3 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 34.4 mg
    11%
    Sodium 431.9 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites