594 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The most delicious potatoes I've ever had. I took these to a cookout tonight and my hosts meat didn't turn out. No problem, we all gorged on potatoes! Yes, they are that good!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barenaked Chef August 15, 2010

Ours stuck to the pan really bad, not sure why -- made for more of a hash-brown side dish after I scraped 'em all off. Yummy anyway, and worked well with the one sweet potato I threw in (sweet potatoes are healthier, so we'll probably make them that way from now on). Great side, look forward to making it again and hopefully having them come out in one piece.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS August 01, 2010

I have made these 3 times and I don't peel the potatoes.These are greeeeat.I put smoked sausage links on top half way thru cooking,serve with garlic bread and you have a complete dinner.Thank you for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nesbitt929 May 04, 2010

These were fantastic! I didn't add the extra water and I let them cook for about 20 min longer so they became even crisper. These will most definately be made again and again, I think I might cut them smaller to save on cooking time. Thanks for the recipe :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robik2423 April 07, 2005

These were delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, except added some basil. The lemon juice really adds an interesting and delicious flavor to the potatoes. Will definitely fix these again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaynine December 14, 2004

The salt, lemon juice, oregano and garlic all compliment eachother beautifully in this dish. The potatoes just soak up their flavor. Couldn't taste any better... thank you for sharing this. We love our potatoes cooked this way!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mermaidmagic November 18, 2004

Fantastic! I made these yesterday for a simple pre-Easter dinner with roast chicken and all we did was eat up the potatoes. The chicken was definitely forgotten. Crusty and lemony. I loved the oregano. I will be making this easy recipe atleast weekly. Thank you evelyn/athens. THIS IS A KEEPER!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
silky April 11, 2004

I'm a little late in reviewing these great potatoes, but that just means that my review is based on three different tries! So here is what I learned: first of all, I made them in a glass baking dish and I did wipe it down with butter first. After that, I followed the recipe exactly as stated and they turned out great! I ended up roasting them for 40 mins - turning them in the liquid - and then roasting them just another 20 mins. Then I let them cool down and, once cool, put them in the fridge overnight. Then, the next day, I let them come back to room temperature before putting them into a 350 degree oven for 40 minutes to reheat them - and they were perfect! Very crunchy on the outside but sweet and creamy on the inside. I didn't try adding some chicken stok, but might next time! This really is foolproof and a great make-ahead recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michaelk69 August 15, 2014

We used a little bit extra garlic and chicken broth instead of water as some others suggested and it worked great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy June 20, 2014

Very good and flavorful. I made for our large family camping trip for our greek dinner. I used small red potatoes, lots more garlic and chicken broth instead of water. I think 1/2 the oil could have been used with great results. I lined the pan with foil, but wouldn't do that next time because the potatoes didn't stick, but the foil did.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas June 20, 2014
Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!)