Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!)

    Average Rating:

    585 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 585

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2014

      Top-notch oven-roasted potatoes are like Bach's suites for solo violoncello.. the de-facto standard by which cellists are judged. Thus it should be with home cooks.. if you can make them well, welcome to the Hall of Excellence.. for they are difficult, capricious, temperamental and can easily go wrong. For more than a quarter century my baked potatoes were burnt-skinned or undercooked, flavorless or oily... NO MORE !! This recipe is pure genius ! It has created a social upheaval in our humble household of a cat, two ravenous teenagers and a vegetarian wife. I feel like Mick Jagger with a gaggle of adoring groupies.. even the CAT likes them !<br/>It's the water that I didn't think of for 25 years.. ( who would think of baking with water !! ) and Evelyn mentions it casually, like the consummate professional she is, without hardly an underline.. <br/>In addition I use it as a basis for all kinds of exotic strains of oven potatoes. Sprinkle some Piri-Piri on it and you have the Mozambique variety, fiery and burns the teenagers into a subdued hush, rub cajun spices in the potatoes and you have a Louisiana Pirate Fantasy.. I even tried it with Teriyaki powder..( Cat did not like it...)<br/>One thing I noted was that the type of potatoes used really influences the outcome. My best choice was yellow, slightly waxier potatoes. I wonder what other people's experiences have been.<br/>Also for the first 45 mins I use a foil canopy over them, which I then take off for better browning. thank you Ev.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      My husband and I loved these potatoes with my husband even conceding that these were better than his homestyle fries (VICTORY!!!!). I did make a change to the recipe and that was using butter instead of olive oil. The only reason I did this was that I had used up all my olive oil the other day and hadn't had a chance to pick up another bottle. I will try the olive oil the next time I make these and see how the flavour changes. I also used chicken broth in place of water as was recommended by one of the other reviewers. I'm sure this added to the amazing flavour of the potatoes and this will definitely be a recipe I come back to.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      Fabulous! Only comment as people came back for thirds was "they are kinda bland". What?? Next time, I will add more garlic, and maybe try stock instead of water. I didn't peel my potatoes, so it was a very easy recipe. Served with roast pork but would compliment any entree. Thanks for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      I made these last night and OMG! They are to die for!! I used 7 cloves of garlic. Will make them again and again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      Fantastic potatoes! The water makes all the difference in how these wedges crisp up nicely but still have a creamy interior. To think that all these years I've been doing it wrong. I used to just oil and season my potato wedges and bake. No more of that. This is the only way I'll do oven roasted potatoes from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      This was very good. Loved the lemon and garlic flavor. No leftovers for our house. Made this with grilled chicken breasts. I found that I needed to cook about 10 minutes longer before the potatoes were tender. I think next time, I'll cut the potatoes into smaller wedges. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      Wonderful! Loved the large wedges. Potatoes were nice and brown on the edges. Used my large Calphalon roasting pan which was perfect. Would suggest making more than you think you need, these kept disappearing from the pan even before dinner was served. Served with pork souvlaki, homemade pita, and tzatziki sauce. Will make again! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2013

      I love these potatoes! I cut them much smaller though. I think they absorb more flavor but that's just me. I use chicken broth instead of water, add some lemon zest, and top it off with fresh basil at the end... soooo good. I had a horrible time with them sticking to the pan even after spraying with pam so I laid parchment paper down... no sticking and super easy clean up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      This is now a favorite in our house too. My husband loves these. I like the recipe because it does not require much watch time. I prepare the rest of the meal, walk the dog or do a chore and know at the end something yummy will emerge from the oven. I look for Evelyn's recipes. She is some cook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      Made this recepie from advice from another chef on this site because I could not figure out what to make with a rack of lamb. Since it was my first attempt at making lamb I had no idea what sides to make with it. Sooooo yummy! I made sure to spray the pan with cooking spray first and also stired and flipped them a few times so they never stuck to the pan.Also used all fresh ingredients and you really tasted the different flavors. I agree, you can never use too much garlic! Also cut this receipe in half because it was just my husband and I. Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      I have always loved the lemony flavor of Greek Potatoes, but I like my potatoes brown on the outside, and Greek potatoes tend not to be crispy outside. The water in the pan as used in this recipe does the trick. Creamy inside and nicely browned outside. Yum. Crispness will vary depending on how long you cook them without water. Don't waste foil on this recipe. A little soaking and the mess goes away. I left out the garlic and it was still yummy good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      Very good flavor and easy to make. I used medium red skin potatoes, unpeeled and they were delicious. My husband had to sneak a taste before dinner was served and that is always a good sign. Kitchen smelled amazing too while baking!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      I ( spud-lover) would give this a ten for this if I could! I added more garlic. I had this as a side to my traditional Gujarati Indian dinner..... I think it's here to stay. Even my health freak husband who doesn't like spuds was competing for the last few pieces. Great on a cold winters night.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      So i made these last night and as one reviewer suggested they do not look as they do in the image, they are however delicious and will remain in the 'recipe book'.

      I actually made too many of them and as a result they were refrigerated, for breakfast i decided to put them on grill in the microwave, WOW, when finished they looked exactly like the ones in the images and tasted even better, they weren't dry at all and think that comes down to cooking them in the water.

      I will definitely be cooking them this way from now on and really recommended the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      Terrific, I'll definitely make these again. I'll try wiping the pan with olive oil as suggested next time though as it leaves quite a mess in the pan without it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      I have made this twice. Excellent results both times.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      Wonderful. Used 16 large potatoes for 14 people and that was not enough! I tried lining the pans with foil...that kept the pans spiffy, but way too much stuck to the foil and it was difficult to retrieve the best stuff, but we got most of it. The times and amounts were spot on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      This was nice because it was so easy to prep. My socks were not knocked off atmy first attempt, but I do plan on trying again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      Amazing! So easy, and very flavorful. Absolutely delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      These were good and easy to prepare. My husband didn't think the flavors permeated the potatoes enough, but I thought it was fine.Cooking times were perfect for my potatoes to get done.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!)

    Serving Size: 1 (421 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 408.8
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    30%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 23.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.8 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.5 g
    34%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes