Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!)

    Average Rating:

    585 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 585

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2011

      These are WONDERFUL!!! I'll be making these again! I made these with Greek Meatloaf and Stephen's Greek Salad, but I will not keep these confined to a totally Greek meal! Now I have another way to fix potates!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      these were really nice. I used the amount of garlic that was recommended and it was the right amount for us. I had to bake for an addition 20 minutes to get that nice browning on them. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      I can't believe I haven't rated this recipe yet. I make these ALL the time since I found the recipe. When I have fresh potatoes(small red, fingerlings, bakers) and don't know what to do with them, here you go. I sometimes substitute lemon pepper for lemons if I don't have them, but otherwise I make them as is. Sometimes I'll prep them early and let them sit, and sometimes just throw and go. And I ALWAYS line the pan with the RELEASE reynolds wrap, and clean up is a snap! Just throw the foil away and there you go. Otherwise, clean up is a bit messy. I make these for a side item, or sometimes I just have these for dinner. LOVE THEM! Thanks evelyn/athens for sharing a great and simple recipe. Keep them coming!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      I've made this recipe tons of times and it comes out delicious every time! I just make a few minor adjustments. First of all, I add a lot more garlic just because I like the flavour. Secondly, I line my pan with greased parchment paper because I've had problems with the potatoes sticking to the pan. Lastly, I bake the potatoes at about 350 to 375F because I've found that with my oven, the potatoes burn if I put the temperature at 420F. Every time I make these potatoes, they're a big hit, and it's now one of my go-to roasted potato recipes :) It's also great because it uses ingredients I almost always have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      Holy moly these are great potatoes! I lined a cookie pan with foil and sprayed it with PAM. I also mixed everything in a large ziploc bag instead of mixing in the cookie pan (except salt and pepper which I cracked over them once they were on the cookie pan). I had a small half sweet yellow onion I added, as I wanted to use it up, also used 7 garlic cloves instead of 4, as we like garlic. (The house smells divine!!). Otherwise, I stuck with the recipe as written and we also loved the really crispy, dark ones that looked burned the best. I only had one potato that stuck and I turned all of them with two forks. When they were done cooking I placed them on another parchment lined cookie pan and put them in the oven to drain any excess oil. They were in there for about 5 minutes (oven was off but still warm), while our lobster tails were cooking. Yummy dinner and the potatoes were every bit as delicious as the lobster! Will definitely make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      I made these potatoes for the first time (I've been meaning to for a long time!) this week for my new family - I just relocated from Toronto to Winnipeg for love. I needed something that was simple and delicious, and would go with my fabulous souvlaki - and wow, did this to the trick! The only change I made was to use baby potatoes as that's what Harry had on hand (used 5 baby potatoes per large potato, probably could have used 6 or 7). I cut the potatoes in half to soak in the wonderful juices, popped them in the oven as directed, and was rewarded with the best potatoes with the least effort I've ever had! Thanks, Evelyn, for sharing this garlicky, lip-smacking, dish - reminiscent of my trip to Santorini years ago with my Mom. This will be my go-to Greek potato dish from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      This turned out very nice, Left out the water and only added 1 tlbsp of oil, I put mixture into a ziplock bag and put in zuchini,mushrooms,cauliflower left it for about 1 hour then cooked them in a George forman grill, very healthy and went well with my weight watchers programme. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2011

      These were very good, I cut the recipe in half except for the garlic and used red potatoes. Even though I cut them smaller than I should have the took extra time to cook and I had to tranfer them to a bigger pan to get them to really brown (my fault, not the recipe). I would like more herbs than just the oregeno but still enjoyed them. Made for Best of 2010 tage

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      They are great! Making them for the third time as we speak. Great snack or side item!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      These were absolutely delicious! I will be making my oven fries like this from now on. Thank you for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2010

      The most delicious potatoes I've ever had. I took these to a cookout tonight and my hosts meat didn't turn out. No problem, we all gorged on potatoes! Yes, they are that good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Ours stuck to the pan really bad, not sure why -- made for more of a hash-brown side dish after I scraped 'em all off. Yummy anyway, and worked well with the one sweet potato I threw in (sweet potatoes are healthier, so we'll probably make them that way from now on). Great side, look forward to making it again and hopefully having them come out in one piece.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      I have made these 3 times and I don't peel the potatoes.These are greeeeat.I put smoked sausage links on top half way thru cooking,serve with garlic bread and you have a complete dinner.Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2005

      These were fantastic! I didn't add the extra water and I let them cook for about 20 min longer so they became even crisper. These will most definately be made again and again, I think I might cut them smaller to save on cooking time. Thanks for the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2004

      These were delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, except added some basil. The lemon juice really adds an interesting and delicious flavor to the potatoes. Will definitely fix these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      The salt, lemon juice, oregano and garlic all compliment eachother beautifully in this dish. The potatoes just soak up their flavor. Couldn't taste any better... thank you for sharing this. We love our potatoes cooked this way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2004

      Fantastic! I made these yesterday for a simple pre-Easter dinner with roast chicken and all we did was eat up the potatoes. The chicken was definitely forgotten. Crusty and lemony. I loved the oregano. I will be making this easy recipe atleast weekly. Thank you evelyn/athens. THIS IS A KEEPER!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2014

      I'm a little late in reviewing these great potatoes, but that just means that my review is based on three different tries! So here is what I learned: first of all, I made them in a glass baking dish and I did wipe it down with butter first. After that, I followed the recipe exactly as stated and they turned out great! I ended up roasting them for 40 mins - turning them in the liquid - and then roasting them just another 20 mins. Then I let them cool down and, once cool, put them in the fridge overnight. Then, the next day, I let them come back to room temperature before putting them into a 350 degree oven for 40 minutes to reheat them - and they were perfect! Very crunchy on the outside but sweet and creamy on the inside. I didn't try adding some chicken stok, but might next time! This really is foolproof and a great make-ahead recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2014

      We used a little bit extra garlic and chicken broth instead of water as some others suggested and it worked great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2014

      Very good and flavorful. I made for our large family camping trip for our greek dinner. I used small red potatoes, lots more garlic and chicken broth instead of water. I think 1/2 the oil could have been used with great results. I lined the pan with foil, but wouldn't do that next time because the potatoes didn't stick, but the foil did.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!)

    Serving Size: 1 (421 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 408.8
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    30%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 23.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.8 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.5 g
    34%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes