Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    10 On-the-Go Breakfasts

    10 On-the-Go Breakfasts

    Drop the Granola Bar - You Can Do Better
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!)

    Average Rating:

    588 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 588

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2010

      I've used this recipe several times and it is FAIL PROOF!! I suggest using more garlic...I like 6 cloves and I also use vegetable or chicken stock instead of water. (I also pass on adding extra salt because of this). For an EASY EASY meal, you can toss in chicken breasts, or lean pork chops and bake dinner in one pan. I've used MANY different greek potato recipes and this is the best ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      This was fantastic! I pre-cooked the potatoes in the microwave for 10 minutes to shorten the cooking time a bit. I used a 3 lb. bag of small red salad potatoes, quartered, and that seemed perfect. I baked them for around half an hour and then broiled them for an additional 15 minutes or so, stirring every 5 minutes so they all got browned and yummy. We found that the kids liked them best with Parmesan cheese sprinkled on afterwards, and discovered we liked them with the Parmesan, too! Yum! We will be making these again. Thanks for the new recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      Great recipe! I wiped the pan down with olive oil to coat prior to adding the ingredients to it & feel it must've helped as I had very little sticking. I used the 4 tsp minced garlic cloves and do not recommend using any more than this. I believe you could do wonderfully with half that. And as a sidenote, if you're having guests over, I don't recommend this recipe with the 4 tsp of garlic as the scent of it baking in olive oil for hours was overwhelming. Additionally, I followed the 40 min/40 min baking & I agree with the owner that these would be hard to overcook as they could've easily used another 20 min. Thank you for the great recipe that I'll use again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      Made these tonight and they were delicious...just a comment on the photos. It is obvious from some of them that the recipe was not followed as written. Is it just me or should pictures not be posted unless the recipe is followed as written?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      Great simple recipe - I am a hopeless-new-to-the-kitchen cook but still managed to make these perfectly. They came out just right with a 90 minute cooking time - might leave them in longer next time as the more stuck to the pan, the better i suspect! I baked them in a pyrex dish - glad I did not use foil as would have lost all the good bits. I was cooking for two, so used fewer potatoes and 4 garlic cloves (am a garlic freak). Turned them once at about half time and added more water/oregano at that point. I will definitely make them again and am sure they're going to become a staple in our household. Thanks Evelyn for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      A little advice regarding the small handful of people who thought these were bland, or too lemony.. I would only use fresh garlic - not the minced stuff in the jar, which lacks potency. Also use fresh lemons, not the bottled juice, which is extremely bitter. Also, a good tip on cleaning any burnt pan is to fill it with hot water, and sprinkle in some powdered Cascade dishwashing detergent. Even if you don't have a dishwasher, its worth having a box under the sink. Let it soak in that a couple hours and burnt stuff peels right off. BTW, we love these potatoes and make them several times a month.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2004

      You bet these are delicious! Loved them and they look great too.. my potatoes were a bit smaller so it only took one hour. Very easy to do recipe. I got the potatoes ready earlier in the day and marinated them in the oil/water/lemon mixture. Thanks for a do again & again recipe Eveltn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2012

      this recipe really doesnt need another 5 star review but here goes....these were so yummy. i added more crushed garlic (what can i say, i love garlic!) i also lined my pan with parchment paper, no muss clean up!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      I loved this recipe. I made these to go along with another Greek food that my family makes often called fricassee. The only thing i did different was add garlic powder and onion powder to the list of spices and used a generous portion more lemon juice than listed. Overall an excellent side dish to go with an equally excellent meal. Thank You very much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      i really enjoyed this alot. it was full of flavor. love it! this will go into my favorites file. i forgot to spray the pan w/ cooking spray so i was nervous about it all sticking but luckily i used glassware and it was alot easier to clean compared to if i used a roasting pan of some sort. all i had to do was drench it w/ hot water for a couple minutes and the brown bits that stuck was easy to scrub away. next time i may try parchment paper at the bottom. LOVE parchment paper, i use it for everything if i'm in fear of anything sticking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      This is my favourite potatoe recipe by far. The only bad thing is the my husband and I can sit and eat all 8 large potatoe by our selfs in one sitting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      These were just outstanding...as if the previous 385 reviews weren't some indication! I got the recipe down to 3 WW pts/serving by: serving 8 with this recipe, using medium instead of lg potatoes and reducing the olive oil by half to 1/4 c. The potatoes were still very crispy and delicious! I also used f/f chicken broth instead of water. I will definitely make these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      These were just what I was looking for and came out perfectly! I did add a few extra cloves of garlic (nothing can be too garlicky afterall) and used chicken broth in place of the water. I will be making these on a regular basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      Very tasty, we loved the strong garlic flavor. I think my taters must have been small because there was way too much oil for the amount of potatoes. My error, not yours. I made this dish, as it was recommended as one of the 2010 best recipes submittted by Sharon123.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      Excellent recipe! I did not peel the potatoes to save time, and I used a few tablespoons of vinegar instead of lemon, which I did not have. The results were wonderful, and I will make these again. I really loved the long bake - my apartment was all warm and toasty form the oven. I was wondering whether anyone has tried making these in a toaster oven? Wonder if this would work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Wowee!!! subbed fresh origanum for dried (mashed to a paste with coarse salt) and subbed home- made chicken stock for the water - flippin' delicious and a definite keeper! Thank you, Evelyn :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      Delicious! I used red potatoes and didn't peel them, and soon discovered that failing to do so kept them from browning on all sides, but still I enjoyed these potatoes! I used a generous amount of Penzey's Greek Seasoning in addition to the ground sea salt. The cooking time is accurate...I actually ended up cooking them longer than that and they were fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2012

      I've made this so many times. My family loves it every time I make it. I usually use un-peeled potatoes and this dish always disappears quickly,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      Yummy! Followed directions exactly and they were delicious. I added the olive oil spray for the baking sheet and had no sticking. My entire family loved them which is rare in my house!
      Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      My garlic still burned. Not sure how to prevent that. Maybe do the first 40 minutes without garlic then mix it in for the second 40?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 30

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!)

    Serving Size: 1 (421 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 408.8
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    30%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 23.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.8 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.5 g
    34%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes