603 Reviews

I've used this recipe several times and it is FAIL PROOF!! I suggest using more garlic...I like 6 cloves and I also use vegetable or chicken stock instead of water. (I also pass on adding extra salt because of this). For an EASY EASY meal, you can toss in chicken breasts, or lean pork chops and bake dinner in one pan. I've used MANY different greek potato recipes and this is the best ever!

60 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathryn g. December 26, 2010

This was fantastic! I pre-cooked the potatoes in the microwave for 10 minutes to shorten the cooking time a bit. I used a 3 lb. bag of small red salad potatoes, quartered, and that seemed perfect. I baked them for around half an hour and then broiled them for an additional 15 minutes or so, stirring every 5 minutes so they all got browned and yummy. We found that the kids liked them best with Parmesan cheese sprinkled on afterwards, and discovered we liked them with the Parmesan, too! Yum! We will be making these again. Thanks for the new recipe!

41 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bridget Leigh May 31, 2011

Great recipe! I wiped the pan down with olive oil to coat prior to adding the ingredients to it & feel it must've helped as I had very little sticking. I used the 4 tsp minced garlic cloves and do not recommend using any more than this. I believe you could do wonderfully with half that. And as a sidenote, if you're having guests over, I don't recommend this recipe with the 4 tsp of garlic as the scent of it baking in olive oil for hours was overwhelming. Additionally, I followed the 40 min/40 min baking & I agree with the owner that these would be hard to overcook as they could've easily used another 20 min. Thank you for the great recipe that I'll use again!

36 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessicaleigh23 September 29, 2010

Made these tonight and they were delicious...just a comment on the photos. It is obvious from some of them that the recipe was not followed as written. Is it just me or should pictures not be posted unless the recipe is followed as written?

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tarheelfan50 May 16, 2011

Great simple recipe - I am a hopeless-new-to-the-kitchen cook but still managed to make these perfectly. They came out just right with a 90 minute cooking time - might leave them in longer next time as the more stuck to the pan, the better i suspect! I baked them in a pyrex dish - glad I did not use foil as would have lost all the good bits. I was cooking for two, so used fewer potatoes and 4 garlic cloves (am a garlic freak). Turned them once at about half time and added more water/oregano at that point. I will definitely make them again and am sure they're going to become a staple in our household. Thanks Evelyn for this recipe!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bhu December 07, 2010

You bet these are delicious! Loved them and they look great too.. my potatoes were a bit smaller so it only took one hour. Very easy to do recipe. I got the potatoes ready earlier in the day and marinated them in the oil/water/lemon mixture. Thanks for a do again & again recipe Eveltn

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy April 26, 2004

A little advice regarding the small handful of people who thought these were bland, or too lemony.. I would only use fresh garlic - not the minced stuff in the jar, which lacks potency. Also use fresh lemons, not the bottled juice, which is extremely bitter. Also, a good tip on cleaning any burnt pan is to fill it with hot water, and sprinkle in some powdered Cascade dishwashing detergent. Even if you don't have a dishwasher, its worth having a box under the sink. Let it soak in that a couple hours and burnt stuff peels right off. BTW, we love these potatoes and make them several times a month.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steve in FL April 26, 2009

These were just outstanding...as if the previous 385 reviews weren't some indication! I got the recipe down to 3 WW pts/serving by: serving 8 with this recipe, using medium instead of lg potatoes and reducing the olive oil by half to 1/4 c. The potatoes were still very crispy and delicious! I also used f/f chicken broth instead of water. I will definitely make these again and again!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy020 February 25, 2010

this recipe really doesnt need another 5 star review but here goes....these were so yummy. i added more crushed garlic (what can i say, i love garlic!) i also lined my pan with parchment paper, no muss clean up!!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbaugie June 02, 2012

I loved this recipe. I made these to go along with another Greek food that my family makes often called fricassee. The only thing i did different was add garlic powder and onion powder to the list of spices and used a generous portion more lemon juice than listed. Overall an excellent side dish to go with an equally excellent meal. Thank You very much for the recipe.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nhodnicky February 21, 2011
Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!)