Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Greek Pita Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Pita Bread

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2010

      Nice recipe! BTW for those saying "it didn't puff": That's how you roll (pun intended). Greek Pita is often a flatbread, but you CAN create pita pockets with this recipe by making the "egg sized balls of dough" around your thumb, creating an air pocket. Pinch it closed, slap the dough ball flat with your hand, and then roll. It takes practice to make pockets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      Thank you!! This was wonderful, have been trying to find a recipe to recreate the gyros you have in Greece and this pita is perfect as I wanted the tradtional soft Greek pitas without a pocket (once cooked and cooled I brushed with olive oil and a little black pepper both sides, cooked in a frying pan till golden both sides, filled with tzatziki, tomatoes, red onion and seasoned strips of chicken, the pita wrapped and tasted perfectly just how I remembered). I used my breadmaker to do the dough, then cut into 8 balls and covered for 15min before cooking.
      Really recommend your recipe, thank you again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      Great recipe, I was happy with how fluffy they are. For those of you who don't know, traditional pita does not have pockets! Its a flat bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Very, very good. I also used the kitchenaid mixer. These were very good. You can make these ahead of time and store in the fridge until you ready to fry them and eat them. I made the ground beef gyros(#30081) to eat with them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      I used my Kitchen Aid Mixer to knead the bread.Very good warm and fresh. There was one left over after stuffing ourselves, so I used it for "Fennel and Sea Salt Pita Bread Crisps". Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2014

      This was great. I used it to put Beef Slouvaki on and my family loved it all. I found it very easy to make and would just be sure to have extra flour around because they are a little sticky to roll if you don't. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      THIS WAS TO DIE FOR DELICIOUS!!!! I even added the olive oil late. I highly recommend making this pita. It's going straight into weekly rotation in our menu for the week!!! Thank you soooo much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      I found the dough a little dry and upped the water to 2 cups. I also tried a variation. added 1 Tbsp oregano and 1 tsp (crushed) Rosemary..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      These were pretty easy to make. I had trouble rolling them out because the dough was quite sticky. I had to settle for using my hands, almost like working with pizza dough. They were a funny shape and not at all uniform in size, but they tasted good. I didn't brown them in the skillet (we were just making them to dip in hummus) but might try it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      Fabulous! First time for kids eating Gyros and they love them especially this pita recipe. Next time I might add some whole wheat but that's only because I like to sneak in the whole grains into our diet. Served with "Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home" and "Tzatziki Cucumber Dipping Sauce".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      I will never buy pita bread again! This recipe was so easy and simply amazing! Next time I will try to roll my pita dough out a little bit more...my pita bread was a little thick! Thanks for the great recipe, Poppy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Yummy! I was so happy with how these turned out. I really never could get a pocket on them, but they were wonderful just the same! Part of the issue could have been that I substituted part of the white flour with wheat flour. It was my first time making pita, and I will definately try it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Easy! Tasty! I added a little dried oregano as another user suggested and used walnut oil instead of olive oil. Smelled Great, very pliable. I experimented with thickness and was able to get some good pockets by making them slightly thicker. You will not be disappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      This was FABULOUS!!! So easy to do and turns out great. I'll definately be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Dreadful. There was no pocket what so ever. This recipe seems way too thick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      Great recipe! The pita bread comes out very soft and flavorful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      This is was a fantastic recipe. Very easy to follow and not nearly as time consuming as I originally thought. They were a big hit at dinner. Thanx for the perfect pita recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      I thought these were great. I had purchased some from the store and noticed they had gone bad before I could use them. Thankfully, these were so easy I threw them together in time for dinner. I had to make some adjustments to the dough. At first it seemed a bit dry. But everything turned out well in the end. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! Thank you. I used 3 1/2 cups of regular flour and 1/2 cup of self-rising. I was pleased with the result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      perfect! i did everything according to the directions, except i baked them at 450 on a pizza stone for 2 minutes on each side -- i like mine more well done. easy recipe with great results, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Pita Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 335.2
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    48%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 779.2 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.1 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites