Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Greek Oven Fries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Oven Fries

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 27, 2010

      Very very good =] Thank you for sharing!! May I ask why we were to soak the potatoes? I suppose that's what allowed these to be successfully wonderful compared to what I've made before =]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      These really smelled delicious cooking, and hit the spot otherwise :) I'm also happy to report that the second grocery store I went to had malt vinegar. I don't know why the first one didn't, it's not that unusual! I had this with a veggie burger on the side. Completely guiltless burger and fries, with a side of green veggies. We were so virtuous last night, heh heh. P.S. I did add extra salt, and they did not stick to a non-stick pan that was sprayed briefly with olive oil. They ended up crispy outside and soft inside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      The malt vinegar really tops it off! Takes me back to eatting french fries as a kid on the beach in Canada. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      We just love the malt vinegar on these fries! I had mine with a nice juicy burger and it was such a treat with these fries to munch out on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      These were very good. I followed the recipe as written. I like how easy they are - no messing with them or trying to turn them over during cooking. We will make these often, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

      Very nice crispy fries!These were delicious.Along with the olive oil I also added 1/2 tsp of Watkins Black Pepper Grapeseed Oil.Very nice.I also added 1/2 tsp onion powder.I did not have malt vinegar so I used white.They were fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      Turned out just great. I love the malt vinegar and am so happy that I went ahead and bought a bottle just for this recipe. Will make again for sure. I love how crispy they turned out. I have made oven fries plenty of times before but have never tried soaking them in water first. The oregano was quite tasty, I also added some garlic powder. Thanks for this recipe, it's a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      This was very nice. I too mixed the dried oregano with kosher salt and a little garlic but I also added some sweet paprika. I served this with Garlicky Coleslaw #138105, Greek Hamburgers #11038 and with some leftover Tzatziki #83189

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      I am baking these right now, and they smell great! I halved the recipe, and didnt have any vinegar, other than that followed the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      Very nice potatoes, hubby loved them and so did I. Will keep this recipe in mind.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      I made these for DH last night, they were very good! He also skipped the vinegar, but loved the crispy little potatoes without it!! I mixed the dried oregano with kosher salt and a little garlic!! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      Whole family loved them! Thanks. I didn't use the vinegar because I know my family would not like that. Also, mine took quite a bit longer to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      FANTASTIC! Great with Greek Hamburgers Greek Hamburgers made with chicken. Sylvie's sugg to serve the vinegar on the side was good advice. I love it but others do not. I also reduced the oil and used the spray more. Less calories! Great recipe- I love fries but hate the fat and calories. This was a wonderful crispy way to get them without all the bad! Thanks Kymmarie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      These wer absolutely fabulous. I made only two servings, using to large baking potatoes. They crisped up beautifully, and the flavours were subtle but very good. I didn't spray the baking sheet with cooking spray as there was enough oil on the potatoes. I also served the vinegar at the table, so it could be adjusted to everyones liking. I will be making these regularly. Thanks for sharing. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      These were great! They reminded me of the french fries that we were served in Ireland wrapped in newspaper with fish! The malt vinegar really makes these have a wonderful flavor! thanks sweetpea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2005

      I wasn't thrilled with these -- I guess I didn't like the oregano. They weren't bad -- just nothing to write home about for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2004

      Great with my Sat. night burger. I served the vinegar at the table and let everyone sprinkle their own. I had forgotten how good vinegar is on fries.Takes me back to chips on the beach. These are excellenet fries. I dabbed them dry then sprayed them with olive oil and srprinkled them with oregano. Thanks sugarpea for an excellent accompaniment to my burger — posted Dec 18, 2004

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2003

      Tried this one the other night. Very good all around, nice blend of taste and the vinegar does set it all off. Use the malt vinegar sparingly, its potent stuff imo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      French fries without guilt - what more could you ask for? For a more even distribution of the oregano, salt & pepper, I mixed them in with the oil at step 2 but next time, I'll omit the salt/vinegar altogether & let each diner add their own. Thanx Sugarpea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Oven Fries

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 143.2
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    15%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 297.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes