10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We used ham broth and red lentils and no mint. The first day the texture was questionable but the next day it was great and with the addition of some leftover ham, this soup rocks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay May 09, 2011

This was good. I wanted something light. But I guess in a way that is a matter of opinion. To me meat is heavy I wanted vegetarian fair. This meets the mark. I did not have mint so left that out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady March 26, 2011

This is good. I used an unrefined extra virgin olive oil, homemade chicken stock as that is what I had on hand (well flavoured), puy brown dry lentils, a good quality canned (Primo brand), whole plum tomatoes which I chopped myself as I find they taste better than buying the chopped ones. I used dried oregano, no optional mint, sea salt and the rest. I don't think I will make this soup again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat July 09, 2010

This is everything I was looking for in a lentil soup! I successfully halved the recipe and it made 4 very generous servings. I added a titch more salt but that is it (no mint used)! Thanks a bunch for ending my search for the perfect lentil soup Sue Lau!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour April 29, 2010

Fabulous lentil soup! I had fresh mint, and used about 2 tsps chopped. I really reccommend using the mint because it really adds that Greek touch. I think this is one of those soups that is even better the next day, and that's great because this recipe makes a lot. This is a keeper. Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* June 07, 2008

This was an excellent lentil soup. I make at least one soup a week and this one will become a staple. I did add the mint and it provided nice contrast to the lentils. Also, I used fresh spinach, preferring its taste, appearance and sodium content to the frozen. I used 50% vegetable stock instead of so much water and the flavor and fragrance were very nice. Thanks for posting another great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha Mazz January 01, 2008

ummm, yummm! I added eggplant, and this is grea with feta cheese. To the keeper file, thank you missy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne October 23, 2007

This dish makes for a really beautiful presentation. We didn't need the whole 45 minute cooking time-- our lentils and vegetables were tender in about 30 minutes. Savory and inviting...And update, I made this again, and if you cut down the water to make a thicker soup, it goes great with pasta, sprinkled over with some feta. It's Killer

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms Samara May 07, 2007

This soup was wonderful on a cold day. I added about 1 Tablespoon of salt rather then a TSP and I also used alot more Oragano. But I will definatly make this again. The family loved it. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef Nic February 14, 2006

Excellent hearty soup that looks great and tastes fantastic. I used red lentils so my soup was ready long before the 2 hour mark. I also chopped the vegetables in the food processor which saved time both in the preparation and cooking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat July 16, 2004
Greek Lentil Soup