Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Greek Lemon Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Lemon Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2004

      Wow! This was very easy and tasted great. I wanted something to serve with souvlaki and tsatziki and this was perfect. The flavour was very nice and the rice was fluffy and not at all sticky. I tripled this for 12 people and there was hardly a speck left!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2002

      Wonderful, I made ahead cause we are having company so all I have to do is re-heat!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2013

    • on December 16, 2012

      Nice bright and fresh lemon flavor. I did add a little bit of minced garlic. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      Wonderul Pilaf. My whole family enjoyed it, I did add more lemon than what recipe called for only because we like lemon a lot. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      This is a great tasting rice. I don't know how Greek is may or may not really be and it doesn't matter because it's delicious. I made it to go along side baked cod and very much enjoyed the two together with a side salad. Loved the lemon! This is easy and would be great with poultry or a veggie main any time of year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      Loved it! So much flavor and super easy to make. I used a red onion, otherwise made exactly per the recipe. Thank you Sue, made for ZWT, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      I made this to serve with fish, and wanted something subtle but yummy! This fit the bill. I love the color the parsley adds, but I preferred the taste of the pilaf without the parsley. I'll leave it out next time. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      This didn't taste anything like any Greek Lemon Pilaf I've ever had. It seemed to be missing something but I couldn't quite place it. It was somewhat bland. My wife and I eat a lot of Greek food and this just didn't do it for us. It was edible, but I won't be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      I've never been much of a rice eater - but I've just discovered it was because I never had it made like this! OMG this was fantastic - 10, no, 20 stars! I always have orzo around so imagine my surprise when I went to make this and was out! I used small, quick-cooking star-shaped pasta instead. For rice I used basmati. I made this to go with Lebanese meatballs (Lebanese-Style Spiced Meatballs) as well as Egyptian prawns (Egyptian Spiced Prawns). Fantastic with both! Thanks so much for the recipe Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      This rice is so good! I made a few changes to make it vegan and it was perfect with Lemony Roasted Potatoes from Veganomicon and fresh asparagus. Great post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      There was once a wife that's been known to blow her stack when she felt her husband was patronizing her since he thinks he knows everything there is to know about everything. So whle the husband and wife went back and forth over a few issues they ate Greek food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      I made this last night to go with Greek meatballs and it turned out great. The only difference I made was that I added 3/4 cup of water because I threw this all together into my ricemaker at the same time. It was delicious! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      This is soooo delicious!! We enjoyed it with Chicken Souvlaki. The starch from the orzo added creaminess to the texture of the dish and the flavor was very lemony - great for lemon lovers. Thanks for a keeper Sue Lau.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Simple and delicious! Made a nice base for Greek Scampi. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Very yummy and very easy made it with pork chops. Thanks for making this recipe sooo simple to make, now I don't have to wait till I go to a Greek restaurant to get lemon pilaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      so yum! i had a really juicy lemon so i think i used more than 1/4 cup, more like 1/3 and it was great! i thought the lemon & butter flavors complimented each other really well. i didnt have any orzo so i didnt add that and i roughly chopped the onion but i think next time i'll mince it a little better. the flavor was superb & went so well with our garlicky chicken souvlaki and greek salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Very easy AND very quick! Very delicious too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      While I was waiting for some of my dishes to fry (eggplants for your moussaka ;) ) I quickly made this and they're so easy and quick to make. The orzo was a lovely touch and the taste of this dish was very mild. This went very well with Greek Grilled Fish which has lemon in it too. :) Thanks , Sue! Made for WZ4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      Super easy and it would be so versatile. It was really fantastic with the grilled lemon pepper fish we served tonight. I only used about 1/8 cup lemon juice just because I know I like a more subtle lemon flavor and it was exactly how I liked it! Thanks Sue for another wonderful recipe. Made for the Babes of ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Lemon Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (217 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 361.0
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    22%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 571.5 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.2 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites