Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Greek Lemon Chicken Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Lemon Chicken Soup

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on May 10, 2010

      This is a great recipe. I recently tried this soup in a restaurant and loved it so I searched for it here. This soup is better than I had in the restaurant. My kids liked it too. I also added sauteed carrots and celery and I used the 97% fat-free cream of chicken soup. This is a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      I have to say, I am impressed. I make a Lemony-Chicken-Soup-263380, that all my friends request the recipe for. It is SO yummy. However, this is awfully close in taste. That said, I think simply because of ease, yours is better! However, I do appreciate the sauteed red pepper in my soup, so I might add it to yours for special occasions. Dress this up with a slice of fresh lemon and some fresh parsley too. The best part - I can make this from pantry items. Might even try using jarred red pepper. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      This was fantastic! I LOVED to lemony flavor!! I added finely diced (and sauteed) carrots and celery, and used brown rice. I can't WAIT to have this for lunch again today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      flavor was good and it was very simple to make. it seems like i'm the only person this happened to, but the rice sucked up all the liquid and i ended up with more of a rice casserole type dish. had to add water to eat it as soup. maybe i cooked too long?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      LOVE this soup! This recipe caught my eye (father-in-law was born in Athens) and I had all the ingredients on hand. It is so yummy! I don't know if there will be any left for my husband to try when he gets home from work! Thanks Laurie for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      This was great! My boyfriend who grew up in Greece even thought it was fantastic. We use orzo rather than rice, and no lemon rind...delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Fantastic and easy!!! I added just a couple of things. I sauteed some chopped celery and onion to add to the soup for a little color and flavor. Also, I doubled everything else, adding a can of cream of celery soup also. I have a large family and needed more soup. Also, I love to have leftovers! Served with some warm sourdough bread and it is a delicious meal! Thank you for posting Laurie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      First recipe I've tried from this site, and it was a great way to start. Had never had lemon soup until we visited a new Greek restaurant. Then I went hunting for a recipe. This was at least as good and a heck of a lot cheaper. Had a friend for dinner and she asked if she could have a little to put over her fresh asparagus also. Quite a hit. Unfortunately I only had instant rice, but it work just as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      This is a good, not great, soup. Preparation is extremely quick and easy. I made it for myself when I was sick with a head cold and will definitely make it again when I need a quick, simple soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      I wish I could give this more stars. I added garlic, black pepper, and some red pepper flakes and doubled (if not more) the amount of fresh lemon juice. I passed this on to my sister, friends and co-workers. We are all so impressed with this soup. WOW! Thanks for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      I wasn't crazy about this but that was just personal preference I think (was trying something new). My mom and my son both loved it though, and my son is pretty picky. For me I just didn't care for the lemon in my soup. Thought I would since I like lemon chicken, but I guess I prefer regular chicken soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Thank you LISALAND! I was looking for a good copycat Demos' recipe. You can't beat the food when in Nashville, TN. Laurie, I followed the recipe using no lemon rind but it was still WONDERFUL. The leftovers just did not last long enough. They are already asking for another round.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Who knew!! What a great recipe. What cooking is all about IMHO. Simple, easy and delecious. Very good. As my friends wife once said about a recipe I had given them - "THIS IS COMPANY GRADE"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      This is excellent - I did use the zest from the entire lemon and I had about a 1/2 small can of mushrooms leftover from something else so I added those in as well. I had to use cream of mushroom soup because that's what I had on hand. It made enough for three meals (there are only two of us) so I didn't add all the rice - just to the one meal I made and then froze the other two without the rice - I'll add the rice when use them. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      deliciously simple and simply delicious! I subbed evaporated milk for the cream of chicken soup, but other than that made no substitutions. Was a wonderful and unique dish, my only complaint being that I didn't have soup for leftovers--the rice absorbed everything!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      I've been nursing a cold and thought that this sounded good. I'm not sure my cold is better, but this delicious soup made me FEEL better. Easy, elegant and wonderful. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      This is some of the best soup that i have ever had and I have had my share of good soup. I could not believe the ease of preparation and how good it tasted. I used long grain organic brown rice and sliced bella mushrooms and organic cream of chicken soup, and about 2 tablespoons of corn starch i shook up in some warm water to thicken it just a tad bit. Another recipe that will be served a lot in our home. Thanks, Laurie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      OH MY! This is a delicous soup! My family raved over it. My 8 yr old is the house expert on Greek Lemon Chicken Rice Soup as he orders it every time we go to Demo's in Nashville. This isn't Demo's but it's a nice substitute for when we are home. My 10 yr old says he wants this the next time he's home sick from school. Husband (who rarely says anything positive or negative...just quiet) raved about this soup! Quick, easy, and delish! Will make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      Just an update - I have this this several more times ....with no comedy of errors.....and this soup is foolproof. The flavours are so simple yet very distinctive. This has turned into my new favourite soup....can't wait for the cooler weather so that I can make this one again ! Truly outstanding in spite of my comedy of errors ! The first batch of soup was almost ready when I decided I wanted to add a bit of salt...so I did and the salt shaker opened up and 1/2 of it ended up in the soup! Hubby felt sorry for me so he grabbed the soup and put it into a colender to drain then rushed off to the store to get another can of cream of chicken soup. Meanwile I boiled some water and made a chicken stock using chicken bouillion and added it to the rice and chicken. When he returned I added the cream of chicken soup and more lemon juice. It turned out great. He gobbled the first bowl in seconds ! The second batch was actually better than the first in spite of my disaster! Thanks so much for posting this excellent recipe.....I know I will chuckle the next time I make it !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      WOW! So tasty and FAST!! I substituted the rice for orzo, used local supermarket rotisserie lemon and pepper chicken breast. My two yr old, loved it, definite keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Lemon Chicken Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (280 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.2
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    24%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 29.3 mg
    9%
    Sodium 830.6 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 14.8 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites