18 Reviews

This is a keeper. I reduced the recipe to 1/3 only serving 2 people. I used grape tomatoes quartered and shallots instead of the onion. It was great, should have made more! Worked well with Chicken Souvlaki (40226).

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike Cook September 23, 2002

As others said, I cut the oil way down and used 1 lb can of stewed tomatoes instead of fresh. Came out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeri Roth Lande December 20, 2010

Very Good. Made it for Greek night. My husband loved it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patricialafleur September 08, 2009

This was easy and really good! I used canned garlic & basil tomatoes. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lil_woman May 04, 2008

Great side dish! I've made it a few times and everyone seems to like it. I leave out the sugar, use canned, diced tomatoes for speed and italian seasoning instead of parsley. I also cut way back on the oil, using only 1/2 cup or less. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pegz Abel December 26, 2007

This dish was outstanding! I cut way down on the oil as well, only used about 1-2 tbsp. I also left out the sugar, added oregano and dill, and used a 28oz can of diced tomatoes. It was really simple to make and tasted wonderful. This is a perfect side dish for a Greek meal, or any other meal for that matter!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tendollarwine August 30, 2007

These worked very well for my Greek dinner party. I made it as written, but it took a lot longer to prep sauce than written. I took other rater's comment and made the sauce day before. It heated up well and made a fast side dish for the day of the dinner! Thanks all!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tia Mouse July 16, 2007

I also reduced the oil. I also used canned tomatoes and threw in some potatoes. It came out fantastic will use this recepie again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulieinHerts May 07, 2007

I made this for Thanksgiving dinner, since I was looking for something different. As another reviewer also noted, I felt that the oil called for was excessive, so I only used about 2 Tbsp and it worked fine. The onion flavor was a bit overpowering, so I may reduce the amount of onion next time as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OneEye November 23, 2006

We love this recipe. However I reduce the olive oil down to 1 or 2 tablespoons. To me, 1 cup olive oil is excessive so I have only given it 4 stars based on that element of the recipe. I also added some red pepper flakes to give it a little snap. I also used fresh Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TXOLDHAM July 28, 2006
Greek Green Beans