Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Greek Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2002

      This is a keeper. I reduced the recipe to 1/3 only serving 2 people. I used grape tomatoes quartered and shallots instead of the onion. It was great, should have made more! Worked well with Chicken Souvlaki (40226).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      As others said, I cut the oil way down and used 1 lb can of stewed tomatoes instead of fresh. Came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      Very Good. Made it for Greek night. My husband loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      This was easy and really good! I used canned garlic & basil tomatoes. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Great side dish! I've made it a few times and everyone seems to like it. I leave out the sugar, use canned, diced tomatoes for speed and italian seasoning instead of parsley. I also cut way back on the oil, using only 1/2 cup or less. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      This dish was outstanding! I cut way down on the oil as well, only used about 1-2 tbsp. I also left out the sugar, added oregano and dill, and used a 28oz can of diced tomatoes. It was really simple to make and tasted wonderful. This is a perfect side dish for a Greek meal, or any other meal for that matter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      These worked very well for my Greek dinner party. I made it as written, but it took a lot longer to prep sauce than written. I took other rater's comment and made the sauce day before. It heated up well and made a fast side dish for the day of the dinner! Thanks all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      I also reduced the oil. I also used canned tomatoes and threw in some potatoes. It came out fantastic will use this recepie again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      I made this for Thanksgiving dinner, since I was looking for something different. As another reviewer also noted, I felt that the oil called for was excessive, so I only used about 2 Tbsp and it worked fine. The onion flavor was a bit overpowering, so I may reduce the amount of onion next time as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2006

      We love this recipe. However I reduce the olive oil down to 1 or 2 tablespoons. To me, 1 cup olive oil is excessive so I have only given it 4 stars based on that element of the recipe. I also added some red pepper flakes to give it a little snap. I also used fresh Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      I thought these were great! My daughter thought they were a bit too sweet, so next time I will add just a touch of sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      These green beans are very good. Everyone, even my 5 year old, ate 2 helpings. Also good leftovers. We ate what was left (which was very little) with supper the following night. I used garlic salt instead of cloves and used parsley flakes. Very delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      This wasn't well received at my dinner party. It looked nice but the taste didn't seem to be pleasant for my guests. I did only simmer the beans for 15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2005

      These were quite nice - a good alternative way of having green beans. I thought that they were a bit sweet (even though I only put in the stated amount of sugar) but then that could just be the tomatoes I used. I will definitely make this again, thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2005

      Prepared as written except cooked the vegetables only until done-about 10-12 minutes. That's just my style. Easy and delicious. Thank you, MIller.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2005

      Yum!!! This is a dish that produces max flavour for minimum effort - a definite do again recipe. Bonus that the kids loved it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2005

      Reduced the recipe and these were wonderful and just so easy to do. Have passed the recipe on to a neighbour who thought they were wonderful too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2004

      People went back for seconds of these mellow, marvelous green beans! I sauteed the onion and garlic in a skillet, then piled it all in a slow-cooker, cooked 4 hours. Used three skinned, seeded fresh tomatoes. This was the perfect recipes for using part of the HUGE Costco bag of frozen baby green beans my husband bought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (378 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 417.0
     
    Calories from Fat 328
    78%
    Total Fat 36.5 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 213.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites