Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Greek Flatbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Flatbread

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2007

      I have never been good at baking, especially yeast bread. This recipe couln't be easier! Not only that, but the flatbread was incredibly soft and delicious! I actually used white whole wheat flour. I figured out the conversions for the ingredients and thought I'd list them for anyone else in need: 4 1/2 c. flour 1 1/4 c. water 2 t. yeast Thankyou for posting this recipe. I'm planning on making these again this coming week with some lemon rice Greek soup and gyros with yogurt sauce and hummus. YUM! I've been inspired!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2014

      Made half a recipe for three flatbread. Turned out great and used with How to Make Dried Chickpeas in a Crock-Pot.<br/>Will use the leftover for sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2014

      This was a family pleaser! Roll it thinner than you thin,pm, because it will puff up a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      I haven't had flatbread before so I can't compare this to a traditional "flatbread". It reminded me of a pita type bread. I used the conversions by Audrey Parrish with good results. I used this for an artichoke pizza. It was very good and I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      Not quite what I expected from a flatbread. I couldn't bend them without splitting for a sandwhich (which is what my intention for making these were for). They were good for a side-bread for a meal, but I was really looking forward to the sandwhich. I even made them a bit thinner than shown & even waited a day to try again on the folding. Still broke. My BH said this would make a nice pizza crust. Maybe next time?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      Awesome recipe. Definitely worth the effort of the risings and rollings etc. I cooked this for about 5 minutes on each side, then turned the oven off and made a smoked salmon spread by MarieAlice to serve them with. They were firmer and cripy on some edges in the end. Perfect in my eyes!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      really delicious... I think I may have forgotten one of the last risings but it was still great. Not dry.. very fluffy, filling, and this made quite a bit when I cut into small triangles for hummus (the dough was a little dry though). I did have to cook about twice as long though... about 2 minutes on each side. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      So easy and tastes so much better than store bought. Thanks for sharing, I'll be making these again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      I made this for my friend and I. We were craving greek burgers. I wanted to serve them with flatbread, but I really didn't want to get storebought bread. The homemade flatbread was delicious. I will never buy storebought again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      I made a wheat free version of this recipe using white spelt, rice, and sorghum flours, and they turned out light and wonderful. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      Absolutely wonderful! I had a dinner group meeting last night w/ a Greek theme. I made these for the group and everyone loved them. I did not even have enough olive oil, had to use part vegetable oil, and they were still great. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      I ran out of store bought flatbread and didn't feel like going out to get more. I don't think I ever will again...this is soft and wonderful!! Easy to prepare and store and quick to bake! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

    • on July 11, 2006

      This recipe looks great! I am trying to lose weight, and love eating salads in a flatbread. I have been wanting to make my own forever, but just never found the right recipe..til now. And the suggestions in the other reviews are helpful too, as I want to make a batch and freeze. I plan on trying to flavor mine like they do in the stores..onion, garlic, sun-dried tomato, and poss a combo parmesan/garlic/SDT. You've made me a 'happy camper' and I can't wait to try this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      A wonderful recipe, and very easy to follow the directions, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      These were fantastic. I roll them between pieces of baking paper and take the top piece of paper off and just put the other piece in the oven. Worked a treat and I didn't need to spray my flatbreads. They puffed up beautifully and tasted wonderful. They also heated up nicely on the BBQ later. Six star recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      I was somewhat confused by the European measurements for this recipe, and so used a scant 2 cups bread flour, 2/3 cup water, 1 1/2 teaspoons yeast, 1 tablespoon olive oil, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano to make 4 eight-inch flatbreads. I cut the pita-like bread into wedges with a pizza-wheel and lightly toasted them for serving with Butter Bean Hummus #105181. This bread is also delicious plain ~ My husband says it would make great pizza crust! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      Very good! I wasn't sure what to expect, but my kids were fighting over the last one!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      These are much better than store bought. I screwed up the instructions but they still turned out well. Instead of letting the dough balls rest I rolled them out and let them rise in the oven. Consequently they took longer to bake and I sprayed them with Pam not water. They were good dispite my mistakes. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2004

      Sackville Girl, you have a winner here! I went a little on the undercooked side and am glad I did. I just pop them out of the freezer and into my toaster oven and they reheat to perfection! (microwave works too in a pinch) Didn't have a way to spray water, so used olive oil nonstick spray instead. Can't wait to try the seasonings suggested by Stephanie. Store bought never again. Thank you Sackville Girl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Flatbread

    Serving Size: 1 (840 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 346.5
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    13%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 390.9 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.0 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes