16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I took your advice and added MUCH more garlic. I used oregano fresh from the garden. Due to the time of year it was very strong but did not hurt the dish at all. Great new way to fix one of my favorite fishes.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff January 27, 2003

Well, I just made this last night- and it was quite good! I added 3 cloves of garlic to the spinach-feta mixture, used fresh oregano, a pinch of fresh basil, and added a chopped tomato (for color). This smelled heavenly while baking, and was fairly quick and quite easy to make. I served this with Black Sesame Asparagus and found it to be quite complementary. Thank you, Catfish Institute!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s'kat March 22, 2002

I just made this for dinner, and all, even our 5 and 6 year olds, loved it! We did not have Feta, so I substituted capers instead (omitted the salt). roiled it for the last few minutes. Will be making this again and agaIN!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmdpk April 01, 2010

I sauteed regular onions in some butter, then wilted fresh spinach in the pan (those were what I had on hand). Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pegetha August 12, 2009

We loved this dish and are making it again tonight. Easy, simple and flavorful. I completely left out the salt because it is not at all necessary due to the saltiness of the feta. I also used a garlic-infused olive oil instead of any butter. I served this with Greek-style potatoes. Thanks for the recipe, we'll be making this regularly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly Morton February 25, 2009

Potentially a winner, but the salt is excessive. To add 2 teaspoons of salt to 3/4 cup feta seemed strange, but none of the reviews mentioned it, so I followed the recipe. The result was very very salty. Today, I checked the Catfish Institute and found that their recipe has no added salt. Check it out? http://www.catfishinstitute.ca/2006/09/25/greek-catfish/ We'll try it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryToo January 07, 2009

This one worked out great, however, I had to alter it to make it more heart healthy. I eliminated the butter entirely, replacing it with more olive oil in the mix and I used the fat free version of the feta. I did add a chopped tomato and about a half dozen pitted calimatti olives. The dish was a success and is now a part of my heart healthy ouvre.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarryID January 01, 2009

Time took 10 minutes longer for me in an electric oven. I didn't have any spinach, so I used tomatoes, pine nuts, and garlic. Very easy to make since all you do is put the topping on the fish and bake. You can also use any fish, including salmon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carlamoose October 20, 2008

Fantastic! Made it for dinner last night and compliments were abounding. I did add the additional garlic and Italian Herbs. I dusted the spinach topping with a little sugar, which took any bitterness away. It's a keeper. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagogal October 11, 2008

Definitely a keeper! Next time I will try it with the garlic and tomatoes, since I forgot this time, but the flavor was great. What a great addition to my limited number of catfish recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daphne_peterson October 09, 2008
Greek Catfish