Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Greek Catfish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Catfish

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2003

      I took your advice and added MUCH more garlic. I used oregano fresh from the garden. Due to the time of year it was very strong but did not hurt the dish at all. Great new way to fix one of my favorite fishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2002

      Well, I just made this last night- and it was quite good! I added 3 cloves of garlic to the spinach-feta mixture, used fresh oregano, a pinch of fresh basil, and added a chopped tomato (for color). This smelled heavenly while baking, and was fairly quick and quite easy to make. I served this with Black Sesame Asparagus and found it to be quite complementary. Thank you, Catfish Institute!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      I just made this for dinner, and all, even our 5 and 6 year olds, loved it! We did not have Feta, so I substituted capers instead (omitted the salt). roiled it for the last few minutes. Will be making this again and agaIN!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      I sauteed regular onions in some butter, then wilted fresh spinach in the pan (those were what I had on hand). Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      We loved this dish and are making it again tonight. Easy, simple and flavorful. I completely left out the salt because it is not at all necessary due to the saltiness of the feta. I also used a garlic-infused olive oil instead of any butter. I served this with Greek-style potatoes. Thanks for the recipe, we'll be making this regularly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      Potentially a winner, but the salt is excessive. To add 2 teaspoons of salt to 3/4 cup feta seemed strange, but none of the reviews mentioned it, so I followed the recipe. The result was very very salty. Today, I checked the Catfish Institute and found that their recipe has no added salt. Check it out? http://www.catfishinstitute.ca/2006/09/25/greek-catfish/ We'll try it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      This one worked out great, however, I had to alter it to make it more heart healthy. I eliminated the butter entirely, replacing it with more olive oil in the mix and I used the fat free version of the feta. I did add a chopped tomato and about a half dozen pitted calimatti olives. The dish was a success and is now a part of my heart healthy ouvre.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      Time took 10 minutes longer for me in an electric oven. I didn't have any spinach, so I used tomatoes, pine nuts, and garlic. Very easy to make since all you do is put the topping on the fish and bake. You can also use any fish, including salmon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      Fantastic! Made it for dinner last night and compliments were abounding. I did add the additional garlic and Italian Herbs. I dusted the spinach topping with a little sugar, which took any bitterness away. It's a keeper. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      Definitely a keeper! Next time I will try it with the garlic and tomatoes, since I forgot this time, but the flavor was great. What a great addition to my limited number of catfish recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      This was so easy and good. I aso added some chopped garlic to the mixture as some reviewers suggested. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2006

      Boy, this is a good one for anybody who enjoys Greek/Lebenese food. I think it might be interesting to pan fry the fish then bake with spinach mixture to give the fish a little crunch. Good, regardless of how it's made. E from LA

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2006

      Very simple to make! I, too, added the garlic. My husband was more impressed than I was but I thought it was great overall.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2005

      We really enjoyed this and I will be making it again. I also did the garlic thing but, I dont know why I feel like its missing something ( ate the whole thing lol and relized its not)maybe i just need more garlic Ty so much for this post

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2005

      Easy and tasty! I used tilapia instead of catfish, cream cheese instead of feta, and dried parsley rather than fresh. Next time I might add sun-dried tomatoes, artichoke hearts, and/or olives to give it an even more mediterranean flair, but it was superb as is. I also followed the crowd and used three cloves of garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2004

      Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Followed the recipe including the suggestion of 3 cloves of garlic. Wife remarked it was the most flavorful fish which she ever ate. One substitution: used tilipia in place of catfish ( a special at the local supermaket). Awesome recipe for fish. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Catfish

    Serving Size: 1 (284 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.9
     
    Calories from Fat 276
    65%
    Total Fat 30.6 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 13.1 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 122.6 mg
    40%
    Sodium 1676.5 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 31.8 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes