Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Greek Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2002

      This was great!!! I took Mirjam's lead and substituted veggie broth for the chicken broth. When I ran out of feta cheese [the next day], I substituted parmesean, and it was equally as wonderful!! Thank you for an easy, quick, nutritious and delicious soup, it really hit the spot!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2002

      Simply superb! This was part of last night's dinner, and I brought the leftovers in for lunch, had to beat my co-workers off with a stick! I subbed veggie broth for the chicken broth to make it vegetarian, and added double the amount of feta cheese (the recipe calls for 1/4 for 4 people, I upped it to 1/2 a cup). Thanks Lorac, this a new one for my repetoire!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2002

      This was great! My husband is sometimes very leery of 'unusual' things I make, and although this is unique (not unusual) he LOVED it and thought it was great! I also used the vegetable stock as an alternative. Superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2003

      Outstanding soup, Carol. I made it for me and the husband to take to work for lunch. He is a big fan of your recipes by the way. ;) The seasonings were perfect and in good proportion. I would change absolutely nothing about this recipe. Very hearty, healthy, and filling. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      This couldn't be better. I didn't make a single change and it came out perfectly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      I work at a greek restaurant and was planning on taking some in for the owner to try but there wasn't any leftovers! I guess he'll have to wait until the next time I make it which will be soon. Great soup. Thank you Lorac!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2003

      A very tasty & hearty soup! I used half a can of navy beans & half a can of black eyed peas (leftover from another recipe) with a can of black beans from the pantry. I didn't have any feta & didn't add the tomatoes - so I guess it wasn't really Greek!! Thanx Lorac!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2014

      Can't wait to have this again. I made the soup as listed (cannellini beans) and served with toasted whole wheat pita and butter as suggested. They paired very well. This was so flavorful with a strong lemon flavor. I thought it was perfect. My children thought it was too much lemon. Next time half the lemon will go in the soup and the other half will be on the side. That way everyone can tailor their own flavor. That being shared, there weren't any leftovers and I highly recommend this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      This was soooooooooooo good!!! Filling and it was only veggies! My DH thought he was eating greek chicken with how good the flavor was. I used veggie broth instead of chicken. I did up the amount of veggies and we don't like cabbage but I am so glad we added it in. It was the best veggie in the soup. So filling. Great for a cold winter night. The lemon added a brightness and I loved the feta in there. My picky 5 yr old asked for seconds and drank her bowl clean. We will so be making this again!! Thanks for an awesome recipe!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      5 stars with the lemon juice added just before serving. Do not leave it out it adds a nice freshness. I substituted a lot in this because I was using what I had on hand. I had pre-cooked small red beans the day before so that is what I used. Next time I want to try white beans as I think it will be even better with them. I didn't have any cabbage and I had some cauliflour so I used that but next time I will use cabbage. I replaced the dried oregano with marjoram as I have read that is a substitute for oregano and I didn't have any. I used freshly ground black pepper instead of white. I mixed in a 1/2 cup homemade tomato sauce which did have some additional garlic (I saw Fasolatha (Greek Bean Soup) uses sauce). I added a couple extra tbs olive oil. and garnished with fresh parsley. I would make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      Made this for a Greek themed potluck and everyone raved about the flavor. Very very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      We loved it. Although I left out the lemon juice and feta. I added a pkg. of smoked swiss/cheddar cheese to it, and served with pita chips. VERY good, and will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      This is quite good! Makes a lot, but we didn't mind that! Needs a lot of tomato, parsley and feta to wake it up and next time I would add salt during cooking, despite the feta finish. Thanks for a healthy, hearty option!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      AAAAAAHHHHHHHHH is all I can say with a big smile. This is a comforting soup and tastes delicious! My DH thoroughly enjoyed this and gave it 2 thumbs up! Then he smiled and said, "new recipe again." As it is lent I had to leave out the feta but after lent will make again just to get the full effect. It is fabulous without so I am drooling to taste with the feta. I took some into work as well and my co-workers asked for the recipe. I had already printed it out so several copies were passed along. DELICIOUS and thank you! (PS= great weight watchers soup/meal)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2005

      This soup is no less than stunning-beautiful taste and presentation-My DH and I could not stop eating and raving, eating and raving-this will become a special staple, as it is simple for a weeknight AND company worthy. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2004

      I'm low carbing it and love soups so this recipe worked out really well. I omitted the carrots, used 1 can great northern beans and 1 can light red kidney beans. I didn't have fresh tomato so I added, in step #3, 1 14oz can of diced tomatoes, drained. I topped with feta and parmesan, though I forgot the fresh parsley, which I even bought for this recipe. I ate this with some whole grain crackers. Thanks for posting, Lorac; this soup is really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2004

      I loved the fresh tomatoes, parsley and cheese on top of this soup. So good! I'd just make a couple changes to the dish next time. I think I'd use two types of beans for a bit of variety, I might use a touch less broth as I found the soup slightly too thin for my taste and I would add the lemon juice right at the end. Otherwise you lose the flavour. Still, these are minor changes and overall the soup was very good on a cool autumn day. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2004

      Execellent soup! I increased feta to 1/2 cup and added some fresh chopped dill with the parsely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2004

      Fabulous recipe. I always love cheese in soup, and used quite a bit more than 1/4 cup of feta. The tomatoes and parsley add a nice, fresh taste. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (800 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 400.7
     
    Calories from Fat 145
    36%
    Total Fat 16.1 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 8.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 2118.8 mg
    88%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 13.7 g
    54%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 22.7 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites