14 Reviews

These are awesome! I had trouble getting french fries to taste good...couldnt figure it out but they always came out hard or mushy..this is a great recipe and THE ONLY way i will make fries again.Thanks PeterJ

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petlover January 21, 2011

These fries are really good; a little time consuming, but well worth it! Made as is and they came out perfect; tender inside and nice and crispy on the outside. I seasoned with a lot of kosher salt. Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #47.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH December 22, 2010

I have had this recipe saved forever - very intrigued by that 'Greatest Chips on Earth' title. These fries are pretty dang good! I did use my deep fryer (vegetable oil) with a thermometer. It is troublesome, but, they are worth it! Tender on the inside and crispy on the outside, just as promised. I made these for DH's Father's Day dinner. Needless to say, they were definitely enjoyed. Thanks for sharing, Peter J. Made for ZWT.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl June 21, 2010

These were good fries. Blanching them first was a great idea. Thanks for sharing. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Midge Plourde June 07, 2010

These were so crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside! Now I know how to make french fries the way I like them! We had these with Drive-In Hamburgers for a yummy dinner tonight. Thanks so much for sharing! I recipenapped your recipe for the November 2009 Aussie/NZ recipe swap. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on the coast November 08, 2009

I have to agree with the other reviewers, these chips are worth the extra time and steps to make. They were nice and soft in the middle without being soggy and greasy. This is the best homemade french fries I have ever made. Made for July, 2009 Aussie/NZ Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 July 12, 2009

Keeper! So much cooking process but definitely worth it. They had this crunchy non soggy texture on the outside and it's soft inside. I boiled them in the microwave to hasten the cooking then strained,fried,strained,fried them. Boiling the fries before cooking is a first for me, but it sure is fab. We'll definitely be making this Greatest Chips (French Fries) on Earth part of our menu often. YUM!! Thanks for sharing! Made for Aus Recipe Swap #26.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma March 21, 2009

I agree with Sydney Mike I too wish I had discovered these years ago. This has got to be the best chip recipe. You can enjoy good fat chips, which we love, beautifully crispy on the outside with a perfectly cooked center. I had never thought of pre-cooking in water but the end result is outstanding. A little bit more effort to make but so well worth it and I will be making my chips like this from now on. Thanks Peter!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef November 30, 2008

After reading the other reviews, I knew I had to try these! OUTSTANDING, ABSOLUTELY! Wish I'd gotten onto these earlier in the year, but still I'll be making these throughout the fall & winter, too! Thanks for the recipe! [Made & reviewed as a kidnapped recipe in the Aus/NZ Special Recipe Swap #19]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 21, 2008

Indeed, they ARE...the greatest french fries on earth. I do wish they weren't so time-consuming...but they are easy, easy, easy. I would think this is the perfect way to prepare fries in large amounts, for parties, etc., a batch at a time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT July 13, 2008
Greatest Chips (French Fries) on Earth