10 Reviews

This is really good, and the presentation is great fun. It was pretty easy to put together too. I was a bit nervous about the amount of mustard it called for, but it turned out great. I used the right sized pumpkin, but it took closer to an hour and a half for the meatloaf to reach an internal temperature of 160 degrees F. It could have been my oven, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kamark December 07, 2013

My husband had this as a regular fall meal growing up. We make it now and friends and family love it!!<br/>We hollow out pumpkin, make up the meatloaf mix (we add a little milk-keeps it moist) stuff the pumpkin put on the top and put in pan with water about 1 1/2" in bottom. It then cooks for 3 hours......take out and poke holes with long knife at the base of the pumpkin,but up into the meatloaf......fat with drain out. Take off top and cook for 1/2 more. Slice into wedges.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pameht2000_11344457 September 19, 2013

I like trying new recipes in the fall that are baked in a pumpkin. This one intrigued me, and it while it was good, it didn't get rave reviews from everyone at our house. I liked coating the inside of the pumpkin with salt/pepper and mustard -- genius! I used a sweet/hot mustard and really liked the flavor it gave to the pumpkin. The meatloaf itself fell a little short for me, and I probably should have used my favorite meatloaf recipe. Like another reviewer, I had trouble with fat collecting on top of the meatloaf. Looking back, I think that occurred because the meatloaf mixture did not overflow the pumpkin (mine came to within an inch of the top, so the fat was stuck inside the cavity. If the meatloaf mixture overfills the cavity, then the fat rising to the top can bubble out and drain down the sides of the pumpkin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( October 17, 2011

Excellent recipe! I did add some seasoning to the meat - 1 onion grated fine, Spike seasoning, Maggi and fresh ground pepper. It took longer to cook to the center of the meat, so I microwaved it for 2 minutes to fully cook it. We had it with mashed potatoes and gravy. My daughter was not fussy on the pumpkin, but I really liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helen1 October 14, 2010

I really liked this concept, but it definitely required longer cooking time than what the recipe calls for. I also found this recipe for meatloaf to be a bit blander than I like. The presentation was beautiful, but I would definitely stuff with another meatloaf recipe next time. Thanks for posting a great idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 November 01, 2009

Pretty good. Made the meatloaf very moist which is important to me as I have trouble eating dry foods. It's MUCH easier to cut the top off if you microwave the pumpkin a while first. I forgot the mustard coating on the inside or any seasoning at all.. and we still liked it. This will be a rerun at our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisaizme October 27, 2009

The idea is great, but it does seem to need longer to cook. Also a note to people, make sure you have lean meat... I made it for a party where everyone brought a piece to contribute to the meal, and I didn't know the friend who brought the meat was one that just buys the extra cheap ground beef... had to pour off the fat a couple times while it was cooking. On the up side, despite the problems with baking it tasted fabulous. And I plan to try it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thothep October 22, 2009

We really loved this recipe and concept! We made this as listed but also added onions and green peppers. I imagine you could use your favorite meatloaf recipe. I would like to try it again with ground turkey and use poultery spices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RoxiGirl October 15, 2009

This is so good! Even my husband (who can be a very picky eater) loved it! I baked the pumpkin in 1 inch of water for 1 hour and then after filling with ground beef mixture, baked for another hour. Will add this recipe to My Favorites list!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dreamerdebi December 03, 2008

I made this for dinner tonight and thought it turned out really well! I did have to substitute rolled oats for the bread crumbs since I forgot them at the store. My pumpkin was a little bigger than the one in the recipe so I just baked it a little longer. The wedges looked really neat on the dinner plates! I am pleased with this and will make it again! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iss November 01, 2008
Great Pumpkin Meatloaf